Antek Sienkel celebrates his hat-trick earlier this season. (Photo courtesy of St. John’s)

St. John’s University men’s players Brandon Knapp and Antek Sienkel were named to the All-Big East second team, the conference office announced Wednesday morning.

It was the fourth league honor of Knapp’s career. The Abingdon, Md. native became the second player in St. John’s men’s soccer history to earn conference honors four times. The graduate student joined legendary Johnnie Chris Wingert, who garnered Big East honors four times from 2000-03 and won the MAC Hermann Trophy in his final season.

After leading the team in goals and to the second round of the NCAA Tournament in 2021, Knapp saw his role shift during his final season, anchoring the Red Storm backline at center back. The veteran started all 17 games, logging more than 1,500 minutes. He added two goals and one assist, including a penalty kick in a 3-1 victory over the league’s eventual regular season champion Georgetown University on Sept. 16.

After transferring from Marist College, Sienkel became a catalyst for the Johnnies attack. The redshirt junior led the team with seven goals, which tied for fourth in the Big East. Sienkel emerged as a primary offensive threat when he recorded the first hat-trick by a St. John’s player since 2004 in a 5-0 victory over Lehigh University on Sept. 2. The Newtown, Pa., native also posted two assists, including one to Adrian Roseth for the game-winner against DePaul on Oct. 12.

The conference recognition was the second of Sienkel’s career. At Marist, he was named to the 2021 All-Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference second team.

2022 BIG EAST Regular Season Awards
BIG EAST Offensive Player of the Year
Duncan McGuire, Creighton, Jr., F
BIG EAST Midfielder of the Year
Aidan Rocha, Georgetown, Sr., M
BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year
Daniel Wu, Georgetown, Sr., D
BIG EAST Goalkeeper of the Year
Cole Jensen, Xavier, Sr., GK
BIG EAST Freshman of the Year
Palmer Ault, Butler, Fr., F ^
BIG EAST Coaching Staff of the Year

2022 BIG EAST All-Conference Teams

First Team
Palmer Ault, Butler, Fr., F

Wilmer Cabrera, Butler, Sr., F

Mateo Leveque, Connecticut, So., M

Charles Auguste, Creighton, Sr., M

Duncan McGuire, Creighton, Jr., F

Owen O’Malley, Creighton, So., D

Aidan Rocha, Georgetown, Sr., M

Daniel Wu, Georgetown, Sr., D ^

Luca Dahn, Seton Hall, Gr., D

Quenzi Huerman, Seton Hall, Sr., F

Cole Jensen, Xavier, Sr., GK

Second Team
Jack Haywood, Butler, Sr., M

Jackson Castro, Creighton, So., F

Ryan Schewe, Georgetown, Jr., GK

Marlon Tabora, Georgetown, Jr., F

Edrey Caceres, Marquette, So., M

Gevork Diarbian, Providence, Jr., F

Ramzi Qawasmy, Providence, Gr., D

Brandon Knapp, St. John’s, Gr., D

Antek Sienkiel, St. John’s, R-Jr., M

Lyam MacKinnon, Villanova, Sr., M/F

Makel Rasheed, Xavier, Jr., D

Third Team (at-large) *
Jayden Reid, Connecticut, Jr., D

Paul Kruse, Creighton, Sr., GK

Giorgio Probo, Creighton, So., M

Callum Watson, Creighton, Sr., M

Jake Fuderer, DePaul, Sr., D

Kenny Nielsen, Georgetown, Jr., D

Jack Panayotou, Georgetown, Fr., M

Kieran Sargeant, Georgetown, So., D

Lukas Sunesson, Marquette, Sr., F

Chris Roman, Providence, Gr., M

Johannes Pex, Seton Hall, Sr., D

Dylan Kropp, Xavier, Fr., D

^ denotes unanimous selection
* due to ties in voting there is an extra member on the All-BIG EAST Third Team