Josef Martinez scored the MLS goal of the year  on a bicycle kick. (Photo courtesy of MLS)

Major League Soccer Thursday announced that Atlanta United forward Josef Martínez has won the league’s goal of the year.

Martinez’s winning goal was an acrobatic bicycle kick in Atlanta’s match against the New England Revolution on Oct. 1.

The goal came in the 81st minute, leveling the score at one a piece in Gillette Stadium. Brooks Lennon picked Martínez out at the back post. With room to maneuver, the Venezuelan striker unleashed a bicycle kick finish for the goal (WATCH HERE . The goal was his ninth of the season and 98th regular season goal for Atlanta United since his debut in 2017.

The goal of the year was determined by fan votes on and has been awarded since the league’s inaugural 1996 season.

A full list of previous MLS goal of the year award winners can be found below:


All-Time MLS Goal of the Year Winners
Season Player – Team Goal
2022 Josef Martínez – Atlanta United 10/1/22 vs. New England Revolution, 81st min
2021 Rubio Rubin – Real Salt Lake 5/7/21 vs. San Jose Earthquakes, 43rd min
2020 Darlington Nagbe – Columbus Crew SC 8/20/20 vs. Chicago Fire FC, 81st min
2019 Josef Martínez – Atlanta United 9/18/19 vs. FC Cincinnati, 65th min
2018 Zlatan Ibrahimović – LA Galaxy 3/31/18 vs. LAFC, 77th min
2017 Héctor Villalba – Atlanta United 7/21/17 vs. Orlando City SC, 86th min
2016 Shkëlzen Gashi – Colorado Rapids 9/24/16 vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC, 75th min
2015 Krisztián Németh – Sporting Kansas City 10/4/15 vs. Portland Timbers, 83rd min
2014 Obafemi Martins – Seattle Sounders FC 5/23/14 vs. San Jose Earthquakes, 8th min
2013 Camilo Sanvezzo – Vancouver Whitecaps FC 10/6/13 vs. Portland Timbers, 78th min
2012 Patrick Ianni – Seattle Sounders FC 6/20/12 vs. Sporting Kansas City, 15th min
2011 Darlington Nagbe – Portland Timbers 7/2/11 vs. Sporting Kansas City, 45th min
2010 Marco Pappa – Chicago Fire 4/10/10 vs. San Jose Earthquakes, 52nd min
2009 Landon Donovan – LA Galaxy 8/8/09 vs. New England Revolution, 21st min
2008 Will Johnson – Real Salt Lake 10/18/08 vs. FC Dallas, 54th min
2007 Cuauhtémoc Blanco – Chicago Fire 8/18/07 vs. Real Salt Lake, 43rd min
2006 Brian Ching – Houston Dynamo 9/30/06 v D.C. United, 86th min
2005 Dwayne De Rosario – San Jose Earthquakes 10/15/05 vs. LA Galaxy, 45th min
2004 Dwayne De Rosario – San Jose Earthquakes 8/7/04 vs. D.C. United, 82nd min
2003 Damani Ralph – Chicago Fire 8/13/03 vs. Columbus Crew SC, 90th min
2002 Carlos Ruiz – LA Galaxy 7/27/02 vs. Columbus Crew SC, 75th min
2001 Clint Mathis – MetroStars 4/28/01 vs. Dallas Burn, 60th min
2000 Marcelo Balboa – Colorado Rapids 4/22/00 vs. Columbus Crew SC, 55th min
1999 Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United 5/22/99 vs. Miami Fusion, 90th min
1998 Brian McBride – Columbus Crew 7/9/98 vs. Chicago Fire, 68th min
1997 Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United 8/27/97 vs. New England Revolution, 39th min
1996 Eric Wynalda – San Jose Clash 4/6/96 vs. D.C. United, 88th min