Andre Blake has proven to be a tough man to beat in the Philadelphia net. (Kyle Ross-USA TODAY Sports)

The rate Andre Blake is going, Major League Soccer just might have to rename its goalkeeper of the year award after him.

The Philadelphia Union keeper Wednesday became the first player in league history to earn the award three times, MLS announced.

Blake first won the award in 2016 before claiming it a second time 2020.

One of two Philly players to play every single minute of their regular season, Blake led the league in shutouts (15).

The Jamaican international saved 79.4 percent of the shots he faced, which was the most among goalkeepers who have appeared in at least three games. With Blake in the net, the Union conceded the fewest goals (26) by an MLS team during a 34-game season.

Blake is the Union’s longest tenured player, with 212 combined MLS regular season and MLS Cup Playoffs appearances since being drafted from the University of Connecticut in 2014. When he won the award in 2020, the Union captured the Supporters’ Shield.

Blake also was voted an MLS All-Star for the fourth time and won the 2022 John Wanamaker Athletic Award, which is presented to the athlete, team or organization that has done the most to reflect credit upon Philadelphia and the team or sport in which they excel. Blake is the first men’s soccer player to receive the award since it began in 1961.

The award was voted on by MLS club technical staff, media and current MLS players. Below is a breakdown of the voting results:

MLS Goalkeeper of the Year Voting Breakdown
Name Player Vote Club Vote Media Vote Average Vote
Blake, Andre (PHI) 46.70% 86.20% 59.60% 64.17%
Petrović, Djordje (NE) 4.40% 4.10% 6.40% 4.97%
Callender, Drake (MIA) 3.60% 0% 4.30% 3.95%
A full list of previous Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year award winners can be found below:
MLS Goalkeeper of the Year Winners
Season Player Club
2022 Andre Blake Philadelphia Union
2021 Matt Turner New England Revolution
2020 Andre Blake Philadelphia Union
2019 Vito Mannone Minnesota United FC
2018 Zack Steffen Columbus Crew
2017 Tim Melia Sporting Kansas City
2016 Andre Blake Philadelphia Union
2015 Luis Robles New York Red Bulls
2014 Bill Hamid D.C. United
2013 Donovan Ricketts Portland Timbers
2012 Jimmy Nielsen Sporting Kansas City
2011 Kasey Keller Seattle Sounders FC
2010 Donovan Ricketts LA Galaxy
2009 Zach Thornton Chivas USA
2008 Jon Busch Chicago Fire
2007 Brad Guzan Chivas USA
2006 Troy Perkins D.C. United
2005 Pat Onstad San Jose Earthquakes
2004 Joe Cannon Colorado Rapids
2003 Pat Onstad San Jose Earthquakes
2002 Joe Cannon San Jose Earthquakes
2001 Tim Howard Metrostars
2000 Tony Meola Kansas City Wizards
1999 Kevin Hartman LA Galaxy
1998 Zach Thornton Chicago Fire
1997 Brad Friedel Columbus Crew
1996 Mark Dodd
Dallas Burn