Jalin Howell will get another opportunity with the USWNT. (EM Dash-USA TODAY Sports)

Racing Louisville FC midfielder Jaelin Howell will replace San Diego Wave midfielder Taylor Kornieck on the 24-player training camp roster for the U.S. women’s national team prior to its upcoming friendly matches against England and Spain, it was announced on Saturday.

Kornieck has been out ruled due to an ankle injury.

The USA will face England on Friday, Oct. 7 at Wembley Stadium in London (3 p.m. ET / 8 p.m. local on FOX) followed by a match against Spain on Tuesday, Oct. 11 at El Sadar Stadium in Pamplona (2:30 p.m. ET / 8:30 p.m. local on ESPN2).

Howell, 22, has five caps and one goal for the USWNT and was most recently in camp in June in the lead-up to the 2022 Concacaf W Championship. Howell’s most recent cap came in Columbus, Ohio on April 9 against Uzbekistan, a match in which she came on at halftime and scored her first international goal at the senior level. She lobbed the goalkeeper with a volley in the 64th minute. She was the 111th player to score for the USWNT.

Against the Netherlands in November 2020, Howell, along with her former youth club and youth national team teammate Sophia Smith, became the second and first players, respectively, born after the 1999 Women’s World Cup to earn full National Team caps. She also saw action at the SheBelieves Cup in both 2021 and 2022, helping the USA to victories in both tournaments.

Howell played for the USA in the 2018 Under-20 Women’s World Cup and the 2016 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup. She was the second overall pick in the 2022 NWSL draft out of Florida State and is a two-time winner of the MAC Hermann Trophy as college soccer’s top player.

The roster

GOALKEEPERS (3): Aubrey Kingsbury (Washington Spirit), Casey Murphy (North Carolina Courage), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)

DEFENDERS (7): Alana Cook (OL Reign), Crystal Dunn (Portland Thorns FC), Emily Fox (Racing Louisville FC), Naomi Girma (San Diego Wave FC), Sofia Huerta (OL Reign), Hailie Mace (Kansas City Current), Becky Sauerbrunn (Portland Thorns FC)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Sam Coffey (Portland Thorns FC), Savannah DeMelo (Racing Louisville FC), Lindsey Horan (Olympique Lyon, FRA), Jaelin Howell (Racing Louisville FC), Rose Lavelle (OL Reign), Kristie Mewis (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Ashley Sanchez (Washington Spirit), Andi Sullivan (Washington Spirit)

FORWARDS (6): Ashley Hatch (Washington Spirit), Mallory Pugh (Chicago Red Stars), Megan Rapinoe (OL Reign), Trinity Rodman (Washington Spirit), Sophia Smith (Portland Thorns FC), Alyssa Thompson (Total Futbol Academy)