The Major Arena Soccer League will be split into two conferences for the 2022-23 season, the league announced on Wednesday.

The Eastern and Western Conferences will house seven teams each.

Eastern Conference – Baltimore, Florida, Harrisburg, Kansas City, Milwaukee, St Louis, Utica City

Western Conference – Chihuahua, Dallas, Empire, Mesquite, Monterrey, San Diego, Tacoma

Teams will play 24 games, 12 home and 12 away. Each team will play a balanced two home and two away out of conference games and 10 home and 10 away in conference games.

“We worked hard this year to achieve a schedule that balances competition between clubs with the economic factors of travel,” MASL commissioner Keith Tozer said in a statement. “We are excited to begin the season with the 1-70 Series and opening weekend and look forward to a successful year on and off the field for our members and fans.”

The Ron Newman Cup Playoffs format will be announced next week.

A full schedule will be announced at a later date, the league said.


Front Row Soccer editor Michael Lewis has covered 13 World Cups (eight men, five women), seven Olympics and 25 MLS Cups. He has written about New York City FC, New York Cosmos, the New York Red Bulls and both U.S. national teams for Newsday and has penned a soccer history column for the Lewis, who has been honored by the Press Club of Long Island and National Soccer Coaches Association of America, is the former editor of He has written seven books about the beautiful game and has published ALIVE AND KICKING The incredible but true story of the Rochester Lancers. It is available at