Steve Zungul is a semifinalist on the National Soccer Hall of Fame Veteran ballot.

Twenty-five former players were named as semifinalist on the Veteran ballot for the Class of 2023 for the National Soccer Hall of Fame.

The National Soccer Hall of Fame released the names of the semifinalists on the Veteran and Builder ballots for the Class of 2023.

The Player Ballot, which considers players who have been retired for at least three years but no more than 10 years, is in the screening process.

The Veteran Ballot is the path to the Hall of Fame for players who have been retired for more than 10 full calendar years.

The finalists for all three ballots will be announced at the conclusion of the screening process. Player, Veteran and Builder Voting Committees will elect a maximum of six new Hall of Fame members — as many as three Players and two Veterans can be selected, along with one Builder.

The 25 Veteran semifinalists were selected by the nine-person Veteran Screening Committee from the list of 89 eligible candidates. The next step in the Veteran election will be for the screening committee to narrow the field to 10 finalists.

The voting committee will determine who will be inducted; the finalist who receives the most votes will be elected, and a second finalist also may be elected if they receive at least 75 percent of the votes.

In alphabetical order, the veteran ballot semifinalists:

• Chris Armas
• Gregg Berhalter
• Chico Borja
• Sean Bowers
• Jeff Cunningham
• Troy Dayak
• Robin Fraser
• Mary Harvey
• Frankie Hejduk
• Lori Henry
• Angela Hucles
• Dominic Kinnear
• Eddie Lewis
• Clint Mathis
• Shep Messing
• Emily Pickering
• Tiffany Roberts
• Tony Sanneh
• Kate Sobrero Markgraf
• Lindsay Tarpley
• Lee Tschantret
• Taylor Twellman
• Tisha Venturini-Hoch
• Aly Wagner
• Slavisa “Steve” Zungul