Four area players were called into the U.S. Under-15 women’s national team camp at the Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center in Chula Vista, Calif. from Jan. 16-23.

The players were goalkeeper Gabrielle Baker (PDA; Hillsborough, N.J.), defender Maddie Costello (SUSA; Stony Brook, N.Y.), midfielders Sofia Atehortua (New York Soccer Club; Fairfield, Conn.) and Chelsea Leal (STA; New York, N.Y.).

They were among 36 players called in by new U-15 head coach Katie Schoepfer, who was appointed to her new position in November.

The camp will be held in accordance with U.S. Soccer’s Return to Play protocols. U.S. Soccer is requiring all staff and players be fully vaccinated in order to attend YNT training camps.

Players born on or after Jan. 1, 2007, are age-eligible this year for the U-15 WYNT and this summer’s Concacaf Girls’ Under-15 Championship. The roster is made up of 34 players born in 2007 and two born in 2008 – midfielder Kimmi Ascanio and forward Shiana Samarasinghe.

Twenty-three clubs are represented with seven players coming from the Dallas area’s Solar Soccer Club. Midfielder Lily Yohannes plays in the Netherlands for the academy of famed Dutch club Ajax. Players on this roster hail from 13 states, with the most (10) coming from California.

The roster

GOALKEEPERS (4): Gabrielle Baker (PDA; Hillsborough, N.J.), Morgan Farnham (LAFC SoCal Youth; Studio City, Calif.), Olivia Geller (Solar SC; Southlake, Texas), Molly Vapensky (Chicago FC United; Evanston, Ill.)

DEFENDERS (8): Trinity Armstrong (Solar SC; Dallas Texas), Mya Brandon (Michigan Hawks, Canton, Mich.), Leilani Cortez-Ramirez (FC Bay Area Surf; San Jose, Calif.), Maddie Costello (SUSA; Stony Brook, N.Y.), Jordyn Hardeman (Solar SC; Frisco, Texas), Daya King (Legends FC; Moreno Valley, Calif.), Sadie Leal-Schuman (Lamorinda SC; Orinda, Calif.), Kai Price (Concorde Fire; Atlanta, Ga.)

MIDFIELDERS (14): Kimmi Ascanio (Florida United; Doral, Fla.), Sofia Atehortua (New York Soccer Club; Fairfield, Conn.), Addison DeJoseph (United Futbol Academy; Roswell, Ga.), Kennedy Fuller (Solar SC; Southlake, Texas), Hannah Harms (Virginia Union; Vienna, Va.), Hannah Jordan (Solar SC; Southlake, Texas), Chelsea Leal (STA; New York, N.Y.), Zoe Matthews (Solar SC, Southlake, Texas), Ainsley McCammon (Solar, SC; Aubrey, Texas), Y-Lan Nguyen (VDA; Fairfax, Va.), Chloe Sadler (La Roca FC; Hyde Park, Utah), Adrielle Salvador (LAFC SoCal Youth; Newhall, Calif.), Paige Thompson (Mountain View Los Altos; Walnut Creek, Calif.), Lily Yohannes (Ajax; Springfield, Va.)

FORWARDS (8): Alexa DeJoseph (United Futbol Academy; Roswell, Ga.), Julianna Harris (Florida United; Pembroke Pines, Fla.), Ava Harrison (San Diego Soccer Club; San Diego, Calif.), Carrie Helfrich (Virginia Union; Mclean, Va.), Tessa Knapp (Internationals Soccer Club; Bay Village, Ohio), Shiana Samarasinghe (Mountain View Los Altos; San Jose, Calif.), Katie Scott (Internationals Soccer Club; Erie, Penn.), Mya Townes (TSJ FC Virginia; Stone Ridge, Va.)