Alphonso Davies has won Canada Soccer player of the year three times in the past four years. (Photo courtesy of Canada Soccer)

Alphonso Davies has been named the 2021 Canada Soccer player of the year, it was announced on Wednesday.

Davies won the national award for the third time in four seasons after setting the men’s national team record with eight assists, winning his third consecutive Bundesliga title and becoming the first Canadian to win the FIFA Club World Cup with Bayern Munich.

The U.S. national team will meet up with Davies and his Canadian teammates in a World Cup qualifier in Hamilton, Ontario on Jan. 30.

Davies scored five goals to go along with his eight assists as Canada reached the Concacaf final round of World Cup qualifiers for the first time since 1996-97. Along with his single-year record for assists, he also set the men’s national team’s all-time record with 15 career assists and the Canada record for eight career assists in World Cup qualifiers.

He featured in 13 international matches for Canada, notably unbeaten when he was on the pitch with nine wins and four draws. He scored one of his five goals in the Concacaf Octagonal, a highlight reel goal against Panama when he earned layer of the match honors in Toronto Oct. 13. He also won Canada soccer player of the month honors in February, June and October.

In Germany, he helped Bayern win the 2020 Club World Cup in February, the 2020-21 Bundesliga crown in May, and the 2021 DFL Supercup in August. Across Europe, he also helped Bayern reach the 1uarterfinals of 2020-21 UEFA Champions League and win run a 6-0-0 record in the group phase of 2021-22 UEFA Champions League. He featured in 42 matches in all competitions from January through November with the club.

Davies was honored from a vote shared by Canadian media and coaches. The Canada soccer player of the year award is shared by winners from both the men’s and women’s national Team and teams. The women’s winner will be announced on Friday.

Davies from Edmonton, Alberta was 13 years old when he made his debut with Canada youth national teams in 2014. He was 16 when he made his international debut for Canada on June 13, 2017, the youngest men’s national team player in program history. He scored his first goal for Canada on July 7 at the 2017 Concacaf Gold Cup. He won Canada Soccer player of the year honors in 2018, 2020 and 2021.


This marks the 29th edition of the Canada Soccer Player Awards. Amongst men’s footballers, Alphonso Davies finished first in voting ahead of runner up Jonathan David and top-five finishers Cyle Larin, Tajon Buchanan and Stephen Eustáquio.

As part of the 2021 Canada Soccer Player Awards, Theo Corbeanu and Jade Rose were named Canada Soccer Youth International Players of the Year while Joshua Lemos was named the Canada Soccer Futsal Player of the Year.

Past winners of the Canada Soccer Players of the Year Award
2020 Alphonso Davies & Kadeisha Buchanan
2019 Jonathan David & Ashley Lawrence
2018 Alphonso Davies & Christine Sinclair
2017 Atiba Hutchinson & Kadeisha Buchanan
2016 Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2015 Atiba Hutchinson & Kadeisha Buchanan
2014 Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2013 Will Johnson & Christine Sinclair
2012 Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2011 Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2010 Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2009 Simeon Jackson & Christine Sinclair
2008 Julian de Guzman & Christine Sinclair
2007 Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2006 Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2005 Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2004 Paul Stalteri & Christine Sinclair
2003 Pat Onstad & Charmaine Hooper
2002 Jason deVos & Charmaine Hooper
2001 Paul Stalteri & Andrea Neil
2000 Craig Forrest & Christine Sinclair
1999 Jim Brennan & Geraldine Donnelly
1998 Tomasz Radzinski & Silvana Burtini
1997 Mark Watson & Janine Helland
1996 Paul Peschisolido & Geraldine Donnelly
1995 Alex Bunbury & Charmaine Hooper
1994 Craig Forrest & Charmaine Hooper
1993 Alex Bunbury