CHICAGO – The National Women’s Soccer League Friday announced the list of players protected by clubs participating in the 2022 NWSL Expansion Draft.

Teams are permitted to protect nine players, which may include one U.S. federation player, from the 2021 NWSL season. All remaining U.S. allocated players must be left unprotected. Individuals on the discovery list of any team are not eligible to be selected in the Expansion Draft.

Angel City FC and San Diego Wave FC may select one player from each NWSL team, and no more than one U.S. allocated player in total from all teams
The following transactions have given several clubs protection from one or both expansion sides:

* The Chicago Red Stars received full expansion protection from Angel City and Wave FC. In exchange for protection, Chicago sent the rights to Julie Ertz and Sarah Gorden, and international slots to Angel City, and traded Katie Johnson as well as the rights to Makenzy Doniak and college forward Kelsey Turnbow, and $25,000 in allocation money to Wave FC.

* Kansas City has received full expansion protection as part of an agreement made when the club was formed.

* Racing Louisville FC received expansion protection, a natural first-round pick in the 2022 Draft and $75,000 in allocation money from Angel City in exchange for the rights to Christen Press.

* The North Carolina Courage has sent the rights to Cari Roccaro to Angel City and the rights to Angharad James to San Diego in exchanged for full expansion protection.

* NJ/NY Gotham FC have received expansion protection from both Angel City and Wave FC. Gotham traded the rights to Kailen Sheridan in exchange for protection and $130,000 in allocation money from Wave FC. Angel City received the rights to DiDi Haracic in exchange for $50,000 in allocation money and expansion protection.

Portland Thorns FC has received expansion protection from Angel City in exchange for the rights to Simone Charley and Tyler Lussi, $100,000 in allocation money and a natural second-round pick in the 2022 NWSL Draft.

OL Reign traded the No. 36 pick in the 2022 NWSL Draft in exchange for $25,000 in allocation money and protection of the team’s forward position group from Angel City. The group includes strikers Bethany Balcer, Tziarra King, Leah Pruitt, Megan Rapinoe and Ally Watt.

The Washington Spirit traded the rights to midfielder MA Vignola to Angel City in exchange for $30,000 in funded allocation money and protection of its U.S. allocated players. The Spirit also received full protection from Wave FC in exchange for the rights to Teagan McGrady, the natural first-round pick the Spirit received from OL Reign and an international slot for the 2022 season.

In addition, Steph Cox, Amanda Dennis, Schuyler DeBree, Zoe Goralski, Carli Lloyd and Sydney Miramontez have announced their retirement and their playing rights currently remain with their most recent NWSL club.

Selections by Angel City and Wave FC will be revealed at the 2022 NWSL Expansion Draft on Thursday, Dec. 16 at 7 p.m. ET. The Expansion Draft will air on CBS Sports Network and stream live on Paramount+ and CBS Sports HQ, the free 24/7 streaming sports news network. The draft will also stream live on the CBS Sports HQ Twitch channel and on the CBS Sports HQ and NWSL YouTube channels.



Full Roster Protection

Protected Players
Jane Campbell (U.S. Federation Player)
Rachel Daly (International – ENG)
Makamae Gomera-Stevens
Shea Groom
Haley Hanson
Katie Naughton
Nichelle Prince (CAN Federation Player)
Maria Sanchez
Gabby Seiler

Unprotected Players
Michaela Abam
Michelle Alozie
Joelle Anderson (College Protected Player)
Bridgette Andrzejewski (Playing Rights)
Allysha Chapman (CAN Federation Player)
Taylor Comeau (Playing Rights)
Nikki Cross (Playing Rights)
Amanda Dennis (Playing Rights)
Hannah Diaz
Marissa Diggs (Playing Rights)
Lindsey Harris
Melissa Henderson (Playing Rights)
Bianca Henninger (Playing Rights)
Savannah Jordan (Playing Rights)
Veronica Latsko
Kristie Mewis (U.S. Federation Player)
Christine Nairn (Playing Rights)
Emily Ogle
Megan Oyster
Ally Prisock
Annika Schmidt
Sophie Schmidt (CAN Federation Player)
Jasmyne Spencer
Brianna Visalli

Full Roster Protection

NJ/NY Gotham FC
Full Roster Protection

Full Roster Protection

Protected Players
Bethany Balcer
Alana Cook
Jessica Fishlock
Sofia Huerta
Rose Lavelle (U.S. Federation Player)
Quinn (CAN Federation Player)
Phallon Tullis-Joyce
Ally Watt

Unprotected Players
Lauren Barnes
Amber Brooks
Maria Bullock (Playing Rights)
Stephanie Catley (Playing Rights)
Stephanie Cox (Playing Rights)
Kiersten Dallstream
Ella Dederick
Madison Hammond
Kelcie Hedge
Sam Hiatt
Adrienne Jordan (Playing Rights)
Tziarra King
Alyssa Kleiner (Playing Rights)
Jimena Lopez (International – MEX)
Kristen McNabb
Sinclaire Miramontez
Cosette Morche
Theresa Nielsen (Playing Rights)
Morgan Proffitt (Playing Rights)
Leah Pruitt
Megan Rapinoe
Nikki Stanton
Rumi Utsugi (Playing Rights)
Abby Wambach (Playing Rights)
Dani Weatherholt
Lydia Williams (Playing Rights)
Beverly Yanez (Playing Rights)

Protected Players
Mikayla Colohan (College Protected Player)
Taylor Kornieck
Sydney Leroux
Phoebe McClernon
Alex Morgan (U.S. Federation Player)
Courtney Petersen
Amy Turner (International – ENG)
Viviana Villacorta

Unprotected Players
Kerry Abello (College Protected Player)
Kaylie Collins
Claire Emslie (Playing Rights)
Joanna Fennema (Playing Rights)
Caitlin Farrell (Playing Rights)
Megan Dougherty Howard
Gunnhildur Jonsdottir
Abi Kim
Carrie Lawrence
Camila Martins Pereira (Playing Rights)
Erin McCleod (CAN Federation Player)
Jade Moore (International – ENG)
Toni Pressley
Ali Riley
Parker Roberts
Kylie Strom
Erika Tymrak
Emily Van Egmond (Playing Rights)
Marisa Viggiano
Chelsee Washington
Brittany Wilson
Shelina Zadorsky (Playing Rights)

Protected Players
Bella Bixby
Crystal Dunn
Lindsey Horan
Natalia Kuikka (International – FIN)
Emily Menges
Olivia Moultrie
Raquel Rodriguez (International – CRC)
Sophia Smith (U.S. Federation Player)
Morgan Weaver

Unprotected Players
Ali Amirah (College Protected Player)
Nadine Angerer (Playing Rights)
Hannah Betfort
Celest Boureille
Samantha Coffey (College Protected Player)
Marian Dougherty (Playing Rights)
Britt Eckerstrom (Playing Rights)
Marissa Everett
Shelby Hogan
Kelli Hubly
Meghan Klingenberg
Andressa Machry (Playing Rights)
Nikki Marshall (Playing Rights)
Meagan Morris (Playing Rights)
Meaghan Nally
Madison Pogarch
Hayley Raso (Playing Rights)
Katherine Reynolds (Playing Rights)
Yazmeen Ryan
Angela Salem
Becky Sauerbrunn
Christine Sinclair
Katarina Tarr (Playing Rights)
Rachel Van Hollebeke (Playing Rights)
Christen Westphal
Sandra Yu (Playing Rights)

Protected Players
Gemma Bonner (International – ENG)
Kristen Davis (College Protected Player)
Emina Ekic
Emily Fox
Cece Kizer
Katie Lund
Nadia Nadim (International – DEN)
Freja Olofsson (International – SWE)
Ebony Salmon (International – ENG)

Unprotected Players
Julia Ashley
Janine Beckie (Playing Rights)
Caitlin Foord (Playing Rights)
Parker Goins (College Protected Player)
Tobin Heath (Playing Rights)
Alanna Kennedy (Playing Rights)
Nealy Martin
Cheyna Matthews
Savannah McCaskill
Addisyn Merrick
Lauren Milliet
Yuki Nagasato (International – JPN)
Taylor Otto
Kaleigh Riehl
Erin Simon
Emily Smith (College Protected Player)

Protected Players
Dorian Bailey
Aubrey Bledsoe
Bayley Feist
Ashley Hatch
Tara McKeown
Julia Roddar (International – SWE)
Trinity Rodman
Ashley Sanchez
Sam Staab

Unprotected Players
Taylor Alymer
Camryn Biegalski
Averie Collins
Jordan DiBiasi
Morgan Goff
Anna Heilferty
Tori Huster
Devon Kerr
Lori Lindsey (Playing Rights)
Joanna Lohman (Playing Rights)
Paige Nielsen
Kelley O’Hara (U.S. Federation Player)
Kariana Rodriguez
Sydney Schneider
Emily Sonnett (U.S. Federation Player)
Andi Sullivan (U.S. Federation Player)
Saori Takarada (International – JPN)
Kumi Yokoyama (International – JPN)