Hendrik Hebbeker registered nine goals and 12 assists for the Pride. (Photo courtesy of Hofstra)

HEMPSTEAD, N.Y. – Hofstra University senior midfielder Hendrik Hebbeker was named one of 15 semifinalists for the MAC Hermann Trophy, it was announced Tuesday by the United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club.

The semifinalists were determined in a vote of NCAA Division I men’s soccer coaches.

The Hermann Trophy has been awarded annually since 1967.

Hebbeker had a tremendous season for the Pride as a goal scorer and a playmaker, recording nine goals and a team-high tying 11 assists for 29 points. The Cologne, Germany native was a first team All-Colonial Athletic Association selection and helped the Pride to an 18-2-2 mark and into the third round of the NCAA Division I tournament for the first time in program history. The 18 wins were a school record.

He ranks fifth in assists and 12th in points. He also tied for second in the CAA in assists, was fourth in goals, and third in points.

With Miri Taylor of the women’s team named a semifinalist as well, Hofstra is one of two schools (Duke University being the second) to have a female and male Hermann Trophy semifinalist.

Three men’s finalists will be named on Wednesday, Dec. 15. The Hermann Trophy banquet will be held at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Jan. 7 to announce this year’s winners.

2021 Men’s MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

Oskar Agren Sr. D Clemson Malmö, Sweden
Simon Becher Jr. F Saint Louis Brooklyn, Conn.
Benjamin Bender So. M Maryland Baltimore, Md.
Yannick Bright So. M New Hampshire Milan, Italy
Sofiane Djeffal Jr. M Oregon Nantes, France
Hendrik Hebbeker Sr. M Hofstra Cologne, Germany
Kyle Hiebert Sr. D Missouri State La Salle, Manitoba, Canada
Jan Hoffelner Sr. K Kentucky Langen, Germany
Jasper Löeffelsend Sr. D Pittsburgh Cologne, Germany
Dante Polvara Jr. M Georgetown Pleasantville, N.Y.
Ryan Sailor Sr. D Washington Centennial, Colo.
Adam Savill Sr. D New Hampshire Manchester, England
Dylan Teves Sr. F Washington Kailua, Hawai’i
Thorleifur Ulfarsson So. F Duke Kopavogur, Iceland
Sean Zawadzki Sr. M Georgetown Olmsted Falls, Ohio