UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. – The Hofstra University men return to action in the second round of the 2021 NCAA Division I tournament when they take on the 12th-seeded Penn State University at Jeffrey Field on Sunday at 5 p.m.

The game will be streamed free on the Big Ten+ Network. An audio only broadcast will be available courtesy of WRHU (88.7 FM), Radio Hofstra University, and live statistics will be provided as well. Links for all can be found above or on the men’s soccer schedule page on

Hofstra (17-1-2) advanced to the second round for the third consecutive appearance and fourth time in program history following a come-from-behind victory over Lipscomb University on intThursday night at Hofstra Soccer Stadium. The Pride trailed 2-1 at halftime before blitzing the Bisons early in the second half with three goals in a span of 3:50. Hendrik Hebbeker, Ryan Carmichael and Matthew Vowinkel each scored in the surge, with Vowinkel notching a pair of assists and Hebbeker helping on one. Pierce Infuso had the first Pride goal with Storm Strongin getting the assist.

The Pride, which is ranked 13th in the coaches poll but unseeded in the tournament, is riding a 16-game unbeaten streak (14-0-2) and their school-record 17 wins is tied for the most in the nation with Missouri State.

Penn State earned the automatic bid after winning the Big Ten Conference title and received a first round bye. The Nittany Lions enter the game with a record of 13-6-1 and have won five consecutive games. Andrew Privett is Penn State’s top scorer with nine goals and four assists for 22 points. Seth Kuhn has six goals and six assists for 18 points, and Peter Margione has seven goals and four assists for 18 points as well. Kris Shakes has a 12-5-0 record in goal with a 0.88 goals against average and 62 saves.

Hofstra is 1-1-1 all-time against Penn State. The teams last met on opening day 2017 with the Pride taking a 1-0 road victory behind a goal from Danny Elliott in the seventh minute. The game is notable in that it was the first career games for Matthew Vowinkel, George O’Malley and Storm Strongin.

The winner will advance to the third round to face the winner of the University of Pittsburg-Northern Illinois match-up.