CHICAGO – The National Women’s Soccer League announced Thursday that Washington Spirit goalkeeper Aubrey Bledsoe was named its goalkeeper of the year.

The honor marks the Cincinnati, Ohio native’s second consecutive goalkeeper of the year award, having been tabbed the league’s top goaltender following the 2019 season.

Starting in all 22 of the regular-season matches she appeared in, Bledsoe registered a 79.8 percent distribution rate and a 78.8 percent save clip, saving 78 shots. Bledsoe, who anchored a defense that conceded less than a goal a game, also recorded seven shutouts.

She shined especially bright in October, recording 20 saves and recorded three clean sheets to lead the Spirit to a 4-0-1 record, earning a spot on the October team of the month.


NJ/NY Gotham FC keeper Kailen Sheridan and Portland Thorns FC goalkeeper Bella Bixby finished second and third in voting this year, respectively.

The list of finalists was decided after a preliminary round of voting by owners, general managers, coaches, players and media. The finalists were then voted on by fans, owners, general managers, coaches, players and media.


Voting Breakdown

Preliminary Round: Players (50%), Owners/GMs/Coaches (25%) and Media (25%)
Final Round: Players (50%), Owners/GMs/Coaches (20%), Media (20%) and Fans (10%)

Full list of NWSL Goalkeepers of the Year

2013: Nicole Barnhart, FC Kansas City
2014: Alyssa Naeher, Boston Breakers
2015: Michelle Betos, Portland Thorns FC
2016: Ashlyn Harris, Orlando Pride
2017: Adrianna Franch, Portland Thorns FC
2018: Adrianna Franch, Portland Thorns FC
2019: Aubrey Bledsoe, Washington Spirit
2021: Aubrey Bledsoe, Washington Spirit