The National Soccer Hall of Fame at Toyota Stadium Tuesday night released the names of the finalists for election to the Class of 2022, including 20 on the Player ballot, 10 on the Veteran ballot and four on the Builder ballot.

The finalists were announced during CBS Sports’ post-match coverage of the U.S. men’s national team’s 1-1 draw against Jamaica in a World Cup qualifying match on Paramount+.

The Hall of Fame Selection Committees will meet over the next several weeks and then vote to select a maximum of six new members; as many as three Players and two Veterans can be selected, along with one Builder.

The 2022 Hall of Fame ceremony is scheduled for Saturday, May 21; it will be followed by a concert at Toyota Stadium featuring Zac Brown Band.

Player Ballot Finalists

  • David Beckham
  • Shannon Boxx
  • Lori Chalupny
  • Brian Ching
  • Clint Dempsey
  • Maurice Edu
  • Thierry Henry
  • Lauren Cheney Holiday
  • Eddie Johnson
  • Shalrie Joseph
  • Robbie Keane
  • Pablo Mastroeni
  • Josh McKinney
  • Heather Mitts
  • Oguchi Onyewu
  • Carlos Ruiz
  • Hope Solo
  • Aly Wagner
  • Cat Reddick Whitehill
  • Josh Wolff

Two candidates —Clint Dempsey and Robbie Keane — were selected to the Final ballot in their first year of eligibility. In all, 15 of the 20 Player finalists return from 2021. Brian Ching, Eddie Johnson and Carlos Ruiz were selected as finalists after not being chosen last year.

Heather Mitts, Aly Wagner and Josh Wolff are in their final year of eligibility in the Player category; if they are not elected, they will appear on the Veteran ballot next year. Additionally, Jeff Cunningham did not advance to the Final ballot and will appear on the Veteran ballot next year.

Jon Busch did not receive any votes and will be removed from the Player Eligibility List via the sunset rule. He will regain eligibility on the Veteran list after 10 full years of retirement.

Veteran Ballot Finalists

  • Chris Armas
  • Chico Borja
  • Marco Etcheverry
  • Linda Hamilton
  • Mary Harvey
  • Frankie Hejduk
  • Clint Mathis
  • Tony Sanneh
  • Kate Sobrero Markgraf
  • Tisha Venturini-Hoch
Builder Ballot Finalists
  • Esse Baharmast
  • Brian Hall
  • Sandra Hunt
  • Kari Seitz

Builders are listed in three categories: referees, coaches, and owners and administrators. Based on the rotation established in 2020, only referees are being considered for the 2022 Builder Final Ballot.

The two Players, one Veteran and one Builder who receive the most votes and are named on more than 50% of the ballots are automatically elected to the Hall of Fame. Procedural changes announced earlier this year also allow for a third Player and a second Veteran to be elected if they are named to at least 75% of the ballots.