BROOKVILLE, N.Y. – The LIU men are headed south for the first round of the NCAA Division I tournament.

The Sharks drew the University of Maryland, which will host the regional match at Ludwig Field on Thursday at 7 p.m. The winner will take on No. 10 seed Saint Louis on Sunday.

LIU (11-4-4) won the Northeast Conference championship, defeating St. Francis Brooklyn in penalty kicks to win the tournament crown on Sunday.

Maryland (12-3-2) is makings its 21st consecutive NCAA appearance and 39th overall. That is the second longest active streak in the nation.

The Terrapins, who earned an at-large bid, have won four national titles (1968, 2005, 2008, 2018) and reached the Round of 16 in 19 of the last 27 years.

The 48-team field is made up of champions from 23 conferences, who qualified automatically, in addition to 25 teams that were selected as at-large bids. The top 16 teams were seeded and received first-round byes.

All first-round games will be played Thursday on campus sites, while all second-round action will take place Sunday. The third round will be played Nov. 27 and 28, while the quarterfinals are set for Dec. 3 and 4.