FRISCO, Texas — Five former players with connections to the metropolitan area have been named among 22 semifinalists for the National Soccer Hall of Fame Veteran ballot.

Those players include former Chicago Fire and U.S. international midfielder Chris Armas (Brentwood, N.Y.), current U.S. men’s national team head coach Gregg Berhalter (Major League Soccer and national team), ex-MetroStars and Red Bulls midfielder-forward Clint Mathis, one-time Cosmos and New York Arrows standout Shep Messing (Roslyn, N.Y.) and former Arrows scoring ace Steve Zungul.

The Veteran Ballot is the path to the Hall of Fame for players who have been retired for more than 10 full calendar years.

The Player Ballot, which considers players who have been retired for at least three years but no more than 10 years, is currently in the screening process. Screening for the Builder Ballot, for individuals who contribute in a non-playing capacity, also is under way.

Builder semifinalists will be announced Wednesday.

The finalists for all three ballots will be announced Nov. 11, at the conclusion of the screening process. Player, Veteran and Builder voting committees will elect a maximum of six new Hall of Fame members — as many as three Players and two Veterans can be selected, along with one Builder. The NSHOF will announce the Class of 2022 early next year.

The 2022 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place Saturday, May 21.

The 22 Veteran semifinalists were selected by the nine-person Veteran screening committee from the list of 97 eligible candidates. The next step in the Veteran election will be for the screening committee to narrow the field to 10 finalists. The 24-person Veteran Voting Committee will determine who will be inducted; the finalist who receives the most votes will be elected, and a second finalist also may be elected if they receive at least 75 percent of the votes.

Veteran ballot semifinalists

Chris Armas
Gregg Berhalter
Chico Borja
Sean Bowers
Marco Etcheverry
Linda Hamilton
Mary Harvey
Frankie Hejduk
Angela Hucles
Eddie Lewis
Clint Mathis
Shep Messing
Victor Nogueira
John O’Brien
Steve Ralston
Tony Sanneh
Kate Sobrero Markgraf
Lindsay Tarpley
Taylor Twellman
Tisha Venturini-Hoch
Slavisa “Steve” Zungul