Walker Zimmerman will get another opportunity to play for the USMNT in World Cup qualifying. (Photo courtesy of MLS)

CHICAGO – Defender Walker Zimmerman has been added to the U.S. men’s national team’s October World Cup qualifying roster, it was announced Friday.

The veteran center back replaces Tim Ream, who withdrew from this camp for family reasons.

Part of the team’s September WCQ roster, Zimmerman has made 17 appearances and scored two goals for the USMNT since making his debut in 2017. Winner of the 2020 MLS Defender of the Year Award, the 28-year-old center back has made 18 appearances, registering two goals and one assist to help Nashville SC to second place in the Eastern Conference.

The USMNT opens the three-match set at home Thursday, Oct. 7 against Jamaica. Kickoff at Q2 Stadium in Austin is set for 7:45 p.m. ET (ESPN2, Univision, TUDN). Three days later, the USA travels to face Panama at Estadio Rommel Fernandez in Panama City (6 p.m. ET (Paramount+, UNIVERSO). The team. closes out the window with its first visit to Lower.com Field in Columbus for USA-Costa Rica, presented by Volkswagen at 7 p.m. ET Oct. 13 (ESPN2, UniMás and TUDN).

The roster

GOALKEEPERS (3): Sean Johnson (New York City FC; 9/0), Zack Steffen (Manchester City/ENG; 23/0), Matt Turner (New England Revolution; 10/0)

DEFENDERS (10): George Bello (Atlanta United; 4/0), John Brooks (Wolfsburg/GER; 45/3), Sergiño Dest (Barcelona/ESP; 13/1), Mark McKenzie (Philadelphia Union; 7/0), Shaq Moore (Tenerife/ESP; 11/1), Chris Richards (Hoffenheim/GER; 3/0), Antonee Robinson (Fulham/ENG; 15/1), Miles Robinson (Atlanta United; 12/2), DeAndre Yedlin (Galatasaray/TUR; 67/0), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC; 17/2)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Kellyn Acosta (Colorado Rapids; 40/2), Tyler Adams (RB Leipzig/GER; 17/1), Gianluca Busio (Venezia/ITA; 6/0), Luca de la Torre (Heracles/NED: 3/0), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy; 32/8), Weston McKennie (Juventus/ITA; 25/7), Yunus Musah (Valencia/ESP; 6/0), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders; 28/0)

FORWARDS (6): Brenden Aaronson (Red Bull Salzburg/AUT; 10/5), Paul Arriola (D.C. United; 8/0), Matthew Hoppe (Mallorca/ESP; 5/1), Ricardo Pepi (FC Dallas; 1/1), Tim Weah (Lille/FRA; 13/1), Gyasi Zardes (Columbus Crew; 62/14)