Maxi Moralez will lead NYCFC against Pumas. (Kelvin Kuo-USA TODAY Sports)

The 25-player competition rosters for Wednesday’s Leagues Cup 2021 quarterfinal match between New York City FC and Pumas have been announced.

Tied for the team-lead in goals during MLS play this season, midfielder Jesus Medina and forward Ismael Tajouri-Shradi highlight a NYCFC squad that will face Pumas’ promising Mexican youth product, Johan Vásquez, who recently won a bronze medal in the Tokyo Olympics, and scoring threat, Juan Dinenno, among others.

Also, ahead of the Saturday night 30-player roster deadline, the following changes were made to Pumas’ competition roster. They have added Goalkeeper Leonardo Tapia and Midfielder Washington Corozo to its Leagues Cup competition roster.

The first meeting between the two sides will be NYCFC’s second competitive fixture against a LIGA MX club with the first coming against Tigres in Concacaf Champions League play in 2020.

Pumas has not faced a MLS side in competitive play since drawing Toronto FC and FC Dallas in the group stage of the 2011-2012 Concacaf Champions League.

Two MLS alumni will suit up for Pumas as Favio Álvarez (LA Galaxy) and Sebastián Saucedo (Real Salt Lake) will face NYCFC’s former LIGA MX player in Maxi Moralez (Club León).

NYCFC roster

Goalkeepers: Luis Barraza, Sean Johnson, Cody Mizell

Defenders: Malte Amundsen, Alexander Callens, Maxime Chanot, Chris Gloster, Tayvon Gray, Vuk Latinovich, Gudmundur Thorarinsson

Midfielders: Nicolas Acevedo, Justin Haak, Andres Jasson, Jesus Medina, Alfredo Morales, Maxi Morález, Keaton Parks, Tony Rocha, Santiago Rodriguez, James Sands, Gedion Zelalem

Forwards: Talles Magno, Thiago, Ismael Tajouri-Shradi, Valentin Castellanos

Head coach: Ronny Deila

Pumas roster

Goalkeepers: Octavio Paz, Julio González, Leonardo Tapia

Defenders: Alan Mozo, Johan Vásquez, Gerardo Moreno, Jerónimo Rodríguez, Efraín Velarde, Ricardo Galindo, Julio Barragán, Jesús Rivas

Midfielders: Erik Lira, Sebastián Saucedo, Meritão, Favio Álvarez, Amaury García, Leonel López, Cristian Battocchio, Marco García, Alek Álvarez, Washington Corozo

Forwards: Juan Dinenno, Rogério, Emanuel Montejano, Gabriel Torres

Head Coach: Andres Lillini