NEW YORK – Concacaf Gold Cup heroes Miles Robinson (Atlanta United) and Matt Turner (New England Revolution) and U.S. men’s national teammates James Sands (New York City FC) , Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC) and Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC) have been selected to the MLS all-star team, it was announced Wednesday.

Mexican standouts Javier “Chicharito” Hernandez (LA Galaxy) and Carlos Vela (Los Angeles Football Club) and rising stars Tajon Buchanan (New England Revolution) and Cade Cowell (San Jose Earthquakes) were among the 28 players who will compete in the game against the Best of LIGA MX at Banc of California Stadium in Los Angeles Aug. 25 at 9 p.m.

The game will be broadcast live on FS1, Univision, TSN and TVA Sports. The announcement came on the heels of the U.S. men’s national team defeating Mexico in the Gold Cup final Sunday, 1-0, with the game-winning tally coming from Robinson in extratime in the 117th minute.

Western Conference-leading Seattle Sounders FC have the most players on the 2021 roster with six, including brothers Cristian and Alex Roldan, who represents El Salvador on the international stage. Of the 28 players named, 24 are first-time MLS All-Stars.

The roster was determined through a combination of fan, player and media voting (13 players), designations by all-star head coach Bob Bradley (13 players) and two selections by MLS commissioner Don Garber. The Commissioner’s Picks for 2021 were Tajon Buchanan (22) and Cade Cowell (17). Buchanan has recorded three goals and three assists in 12 appearances for New England, while Cowell became the first player to tally four goals and four assists at the start of the season.

Fifteen clubs are represented on this year’s All-Star Game roster: Atlanta United, Columbus Crew, FC Dallas, LA Galaxy, Los Angeles Football Club, Minnesota United FC, Nashville SC, New England Revolution, New York City FC, Orlando City SC, Philadelphia Union, Real Salt Lake, San Jose Earthquakes and Seattle Sounders FC and Sporting Kansas City.

The Red Bulls were not represented.

The players have ties to 14 countries: Argentina, Brazil, Cameroon, Canada, Colombia, Croatia, El Salvador, Hungary, Mexico, Peru, Portugal, Spain, United States and Uruguay.


2021 MLS All-Star Game Roster

Last Name First Name Club Position All-Star Game No.
Araujo Julian LA Galaxy RB 2
Atuesta Eduard Los Angeles Football Club DM 20
Bou Gustavo New England Revolution W 7
Buchanan Tajon New England Revolution W 18
Cowell Cade San Jose Earthquakes FW 44
Gallese Pedro Orlando City SC GK 1
Gil Carles New England Revolution AM 22
Gomez Andrade Yeimar Seattle Sounders FC CB 28
Hernandez Javier ‘Chicharito’ LA Galaxy FW 14
Kreilach Damir Real Salt Lake CM 8
Murillo Jesus Los Angeles Football Club CB 94
Nani Orlando City SC W 17
Nouhou Seattle Sounders FC LB 5
Paulo João Seattle Sounders FC DM 6
Pepi Ricardo FC Dallas FW 24
Reynoso Emanuel Minnesota United FC AM 33
Robinson Miles Atlanta United CB 12
Roldan Alex Seattle Sounders FC RB 13
Roldan Cristian Seattle Sounders FC CM 23
Rossi Diego Los Angeles Football Club W 21
Ruidíaz Raúl Seattle Sounders FC FW 9
Salloi Daniel Sporting Kansas City W 19
Sands James New York City FC CB 16
Turner Matt New England Revolution GK 30
Vela Carlos Los Angeles Football Club W 10
Wagner Kai Philadelphia Union LB 27
Zelarayan Lucas Columbus Crew AM 11
Zimmerman Walker Nashville SC CB 25

The MLS roster

Goalkeepers (2): Pedro Gallese (Orlando City SC), Matt Turner (New England Revolution)

Defenders (9): Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy), Jesus Murillo (Los Angeles FC), Nouhou Tolo (Seattle Sounders FC), Miles Robinson (Atlanta United), Alex Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC), James Sands (New York City FC), Kai Wagner (Philadelphia Union), Yeimar Gomez Andrade (Seattle Sounders FC), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC)

Midfielders (7): Eduard Atuesta (Los Angeles FC), Carles Gil (New England Revolution), Damir Kreilach (Real Salt Lake), Joao Paulo (Seattle Sounders FC), Emanuel Reynoso (Minnesota United FC), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC), Lucas Zelarayan (Columbus Crew)

Forwards/Wingers (10): Gustavo Bou (New England Revolution), Tajon Buchanan (New England Revolution), Cade Cowell (San Jose Earthquakes), Javier Hernandez (LA Galaxy), Nani (Orlando City SC), Ricardo Pepi (FC Dallas), Diego Rossi (Los Angeles FC), Raul Ruidiaz (Seattle Sounders FC), Daniel Salloi (Sporting Kansas City), Carlos Vela (Los Angeles FC)


Front Row Soccer editor Michael Lewis has covered 13 World Cups (eight men, five women), seven Olympics and 25 MLS Cups. He has written about New York City FC, New York Cosmos, the New York Red Bulls and both U.S. national teams for Newsday and has penned a soccer history column for the Lewis, who has been honored by the Press Club of Long Island and National Soccer Coaches Association of America, is the former editor of He has written seven books about the beautiful game and has published ALIVE AND KICKING The incredible but true story of the Rochester Lancers. It is available at