Lucy Porter scored 10 goals and assisted on four others for Hofstra. (Photo courtesy of Hofstra)

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Hofstra University senior midfielder Lucy Porter Tuesday was named among 15 women’s semifinalists for the 2020-21 MAC Hermann Trophy, the Missouri Athletic Club and United Soccer Coaches announced.

The award is based on voting by NCAA Division I men’s and women’s soccer coaches.

Named Colonial Athletic Association midfielder of the year, Porter recently completed a marvelous season in which the Birmingham, England native recorded 10 goals and four assists in nine games.

She has tallied 41 goals and 16 assists in 69 appearances for the Pride.

Porter, a three-time All-CAA First Team selection, earned CAA Midfielder of the year honors for the second-straight year after posting 10 goals during Hofstra’s on-of-a-kind spring season. She also added four assists and finished with 24 points, an average of 2.6 points per game.

Porter led a Hofstra attack that ranks first in the nation in goals per game (3.56) and first in points per game (11.22). Porter is fourth in all of NCAA Division I in both goals per game (1.11) and points per game (2.67). She was tabbed the 11th best player in the nation according to Top Drawer Soccer’s mid-season Top-100.

An outstanding student-athlete, Porter also was selected as one of 10 Senior CLASS Award finalists nationally. The Senior CLASS Award honors senior student-athletes who have notable achievements in the four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

Last season, the midfielder earned United Soccer Coaches All-America second team accolades, was a member of the Scholar All-America first team and secured ll-East Region first team nods for the second consecutive season.

Porter’s 41 career goals which ranks third in Hofstra program history behind Sam Scolarici (50) and Leah Galton (48). In addition, she has 98 career points which also ranks third behind Galton (122) and Scolarici (108).

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the most coveted individual honor in NCAA Division I soccer and has been awarded annually since 1967. Most recently, Robbie Robinson (Clemson) and Catarina Macario (Stanford) received the award for outstanding intercollegiate performances in 2019.

Three men and three women finalists will be named for the award Wednesday, May 12. The banquet will be held at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis to announce this year’s winners May 27.

For more information about the history of the MAC Hermann Trophy, visit

2020-21 Women’s MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

Amirah Ali Sr F Rutgers Voorhees, N.J.
Emily Alvarado Sr K TCU El Paso, Texas
Malia Berkely Sr D Florida State Liberty Township, Ohio
Mikayla Colohan Sr M BYU Kaysville, Utah
Penelope Hocking Jr F Southern California Anaheim, Calif.
Jaelin Howell Jr M Florida State Lone Tree, Colo.
Jimena Lopez Sr D Texas A&M Mexico City, Mexico
Sydny Nasello Jr F South Florida Land O’ Lakes, Fla.
Brianna Pinto So M North Carolina Durham, N.C.
Anna Podojil So F Arkansas Cincinnati, Ohio
Lucy Porter Sr M Hofstra Birmingham, England
Mijke Roelfsema Sr D Rice Den Haag, The Netherlands
Yazmeen Ryan Sr M TCU Norman, Okla.
Ally Schlegel So F Penn State Parker, Colo.
Delanie Sheehan Sr M UCLA Brentwood, Calif.