PHILADELPHIA – After playing to a scoreless draw in 110 minutes of regulation and extratime, the Hofstra University men lost in penalty kicks to James Madison University in the Colonial Athletic Association championship game Saturday.

The Dukes won the shootout, 4-3 and advanced to the NCAA Division I tournament.

Alex Krakowiak gave JMU a 1-0 lead in the tie-breaker before Jack Nuttall answered for the Pride.

Rodrigo Robles made it 2-1 and Hofstra’s Hendrik Hebbeker missed his attempt wide right.

Tyler Clegg converted the Dukes’ third attempt, though Mason converted his attempt for the Pride to make it 3-2.

Luca Erhardt hit for James Madison and Storm Strongin followed for Hofstra to make it 4-3 entering the fifth round.
JMU goalkeeper Wessel Speel came up huge as he stopped Steve Foss to give the Pride a shot to tie and force additional rounds. Ryan Carmichael put his kick high as it hit the underside of the crossbar and bounced straight down and away to give the Dukes the title.

Each team had opportunities during regulation and overtime but both goalkeepers were up to the task. Speel stopped a season-high eight shots. His JMU counterpart, TJ Bush, made two saves but was also adept at cutting off Hofstra crosses from outside the box.

Hofstra’s best chance came in the 33rd minute when Stefan Mason sent in a long ball to the far post that Matthew Vowinkel got a head on. But Bush made the save. The Pride also had a good shot in extratime as Carmichael’s blast from outside the box was tipped over the crossbar by Bush.

Hofstra’s Speel and defenders George O’Malley and Pierce Infuso were named to the CAA All-Tournament Team

James Madison outshot Hofstra, 20-10, and had an 8-2 advantage in shots on goal.

Front Row Soccer editor Michael Lewis has covered 13 World Cups (eight men, five women), seven Olympics and 25 MLS Cups. He has written about New York City FC, New York Cosmos, the New York Red Bulls and both U.S. national teams for Newsday and has penned a soccer history column for the Lewis, who has been honored by the Press Club of Long Island and National Soccer Coaches Association of America, is the former editor of He has written seven books about the beautiful game and has published ALIVE AND KICKING The incredible but true story of the Rochester Lancers. It is available at