FIFA Wednesday announced the nine host cities and 10 stadiums that will host the 2023 Women’s World Cup.

Australia and New Zealand that will host matches during the tournament.

The tournament will be the first co-hosted Women’s World Cup and the first edition to feature 32 teams .

Sydney, Australia will host two stadiums.

The host cities and stadiums:

Adelaide – Hindmarsh Stadium
Auckland / Tāmaki Makaurau – Eden Park
Brisbane – Brisbane Stadium
Dunedin / Ōtepoti – Dunedin Stadium
Hamilton / Kirikiriroa – Waikato Stadium
Melbourne – Melbourne Rectangular Stadium
Perth – Perth Rectangular Stadium
Sydney – Stadium Australia and Sydney Football Stadium
Wellington / Te Whanganui-a-Tara – Wellington Stadium
In addition to revealing the Host Cities and stadiums, FIFA has also announced today that Eden Park in Auckland will host the opening match of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 with Stadium Australia in Sydney selected to host the Final.

Australia and New Zealand also will host one semifinal each. The full match schedule will be announced later this year.

“Building on the incredible success of France 2019 both on and off the pitch, the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 and nine host cities across Australia and New Zealand will not only showcase the world’s very best players, but will also provide a powerful platform to unite and inspire people, transform lives and create a lasting legacy for women’s football in Australia and New Zealand and around the world,” FIFA president Gianni Infantino said in a statement.

Both federation presidents also chimed in.

“The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 will be the biggest sporting event on Australian soil since the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games, showcasing Australia and New Zealand to a global audience of over one billion people,” Football Australia president Chris Nikou said in a statement. “Today’s announcement of the host cities and match venues for the tournament is a major milestone in the build-up to the next FIFA Women’s World Cup – a tournament that will unite nations, inspire generations, and provide our diverse and multicultural game with the perfect platform to grow over the coming years.”

Added New Zealand Football president Johanna Wood: “It is a privilege to co-host the FIFA Women’s World Cup in 2023 with Australia and we look forward to welcoming the world’s best athletes and their supporters to Aotearoa New Zealand.

“We have and will continue to work with our partners to deliver the biggest, most exciting and best tournament to date. The legacy of FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 starts now and will go on to leave a lasting impression on women’s sport across both countries and the wider Asia-Pacific region.”

The selection of the Host Cities and stadiums follows a thorough and comprehensive process over the past eight months conducted by FIFA, together with the two host associations, which included a series of virtual workshops and one-to-one workshops with all candidate host cities and stadiums, as well as an in-depth analysis of the Host City and stadium infrastructure and facilities, training sites and accommodation.

Four-time world champion United States captured the 2019 Women’s World Cup.

Front Row Soccer editor Michael Lewis has covered 13 World Cups (eight men, five women), seven Olympics and 25 MLS Cups. He has written about New York City FC, New York Cosmos, the New York Red Bulls and both U.S. national teams for Newsday and has penned a soccer history column for the Lewis, who has been honored by the Press Club of Long Island and National Soccer Coaches Association of America, is the former editor of He has written seven books about the beautiful game and has published ALIVE AND KICKING The incredible but true story of the Rochester Lancers. It is available at