CHICAGO — A committee of five former U.S. women’s national team players will select the five finalists for the 2021 SheBelieves Hero contest.

Fans will voting on the winner during the week of March 16-21. The 2021 SheBelieves Hero Selection Committee is composed of Michelle Akers, Stephanie Cox, Tina Frimpong-Ellertson, Leslie Osborne and Lindsay Tarpley.

The committee will select the five finalists from a list of 10 semifinalists who were chosen from an initial review panel of independent volunteers and U.S. Soccer staff.

The fifth annual contest began taking nominations Jan. 11 and the process closed March 1. The contest will select a young person between the ages of 13-17 who embodies the SheBelieves spirit. A SheBelieves Hero is a leader in their community, a confident and passionate individual who empowers others around them and works to make a positive difference in the world.

In the four previous contests, the winner was chosen before the annual SheBelieves Cup tournament so the winner could attend a match. This year, due to the global pandemic, the decision was made to extend the contest to provide the opportunity for more nominations and to award the winner a trip for two to a future USWNT match.

SheBelieves is a movement created to inspire and encourage girls and women of all ages to accomplish their goals and dreams, athletic or otherwise. The campaign was launched in the run-up to the 2015 Women’s World Cup but has since evolved into a special bond between the team and its fans, taking its powerful message of empowerment and that of believing in yourself into communities across the nation.