BUSY, BUSY, BUSY: USMNT could play as many as 21 games this year

By Michael Lewis
FrontRowSoccer.com Editor

The U.S. men’s national team is slated to play at least 18 games and could play as many as 21 in what will turn into a busy 2021.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the start of the World Cup qualifying Octagonal has been pushed back a year as eight matches will be played from September.

Assuming nothing is changed, the Americans will play eight WCQ contests, a minimum of three and a maximum of six Concacaf Gold Cup matches, five friendlies and two Concacaf Nations League encounters.

The USA already has played one international friendly – a 7-0 win over Trinidad & Tobago Jan. 31.

Below is the schedule of games, which includes all 14 WCQ matches in the Octagonal, which was revealed by USMNT general manager Brian McBride at the U.S. Soccer board of directors meeting on Zoom Friday.

Of course, the schedule is subject to change, depending on what transpires as the U.S. and the world tries to recover from and leave the Coronavirus in the rearview mirror.

Friendlies

Thursday, March 25 (away)

Sunday, March 28 – at Northern Ireland

Sunday, May 30 (away)

CONCACAF Nations League

Semifinals

Thursday, June 3 – vs. Honduras (home)

Final or third-place match

Sunday, June 6 (home)

Friendly

June 9 (home)

Concacaf Gold Cup

July 10-Aug. 1 (home)

World Cup qualifying – Octagonal

Match Day 1

Thursday, Sept. 2 – El Salvador or Trinidad (away)

Match Day 2

Sunday, Sept. 5 – Canada or Haiti (home)

Match Day 3

Wednesday, Sept. 8 – Honduras (away)

Match Day 4

Thursday, Oct. 7 – Jamaica (home)

Match Day 5

Sunday, Oct. 10 – Curacao or Panama (away)

Match Day 6

Wednesday, Oct. 13 – Costa Rica (home)

Match Day 7

Friday, Nov. 12 – Mexico (home)

Match Day 8

Tuesday, Nov. 16 – Jamaica (away)

Training camp

(November-December)

Match Day 9

Thursday, Jan. 27, 2022 – El Salvador or Trinidad & Tobago (home)

Match Day 10

Sunday, Jan. 30, 2022 – Canada or Haiti (away)

Match Day 11

Wednesday, Feb. 2 – Honduras (home)

Match Day 12

Thursday, March 24 – Mexico (away)

Match Day 13

Sunday, March 27 – Curacao or Panama (home)

Match Day 14

Wednesday, March 30 – Costa Rica (away)

Intercontinental playoff or friendly

Saturday, June 4, 2022

Wednesday, June 8, 2022

Friendlies (2022)

Saturday, June 11

Tuesday, June 14

Friday, Sept. 23

Tuesday, Sept. 27

Saturday, June 4

Wednesday, June 8

2022 World Cup

Nov. 21 – Dec. 18