Christie Pearce play for two Women’s World Cup championship teams – in 1999 and 2015. (Phot courtesy of Sky Blue FC)

There are several big-name players who are eligible for the first time for the National Soccer Hall of Fame.

The list includues U.S. national team World Cup alumni Maurice Edu (2010), Oguchi Onyewu (2006 and 2010) and Christie Pearce (1999, 2003, 2007, 2011 and 2015); MLS Best XI selections Victor Bernardez (2012), Bobby Boswell (2006 and 2014), Jon Busch (2008), Shalrie Joseph (2005, 2007-2009), Sebastien LeToux (2010) and Javier Morales (2010) and and NWSL Best XI selection Brittany Taylor (2015).

Pearce also coached and played for Sky Blue FC (NWSL).

Players eligible for the first time from the Extended National Teams based on 2020’s eligibility revisions include Chris Ahrens, Keith Johnson, Josh McKinney and Gavin Sibayan from the U.S. Para 7-A-Side national team and John Ball, Jamar Beasley, Pat Morris and Matt Stewart from the U.S. Futsal National Team.

In order to be eligible for election as a Player, an individual must be retired for at least three full calendar years, but for no more than 10 full calendar years, and have either:

Played in at least 20 full international games for the U.S. men’s national team, women’s national team or extended national teams (paralympic, ebach and futsal).


Played at least five seasons in an American first-division professional league and been named to a postseason league all-star team at least once.