Cindy Parlow took over ras president last January. 

CHICAGO – Current U.S. Soccer president Cindy Parlow Cone is the only presidential candidate and will run unopposed, the organization announced Monday.

U.S. Soccer announced that the field of candidates was set for the presidential and vice presidential election, which will take place at the National Council Meeting during the virtual U.S. Soccer Annual General Meeting Feb. 27.

Former U.S. men’s national team midfielder Cobi Jones, Metropolitan DC-Virginia Soccer Association president Jim Sadowski, Idaho Youth Soccer Association president Bill Taylor and US Youth Soccer vice chair and U.S. Soccer board of directors Youth Council representative Tim Turney are the four candidates to have completed the nomination process for vice president.

The vice presidential election is to fill the vacancy created when Parlow Cone departed the position to assume the role of U.S. Soccer President in March 2020. The term of the newly elected vice president will last three years to complete the term that began in February 2020.

The nomination process (detailed in Policy 401-1) kicked off in November and the deadline for potential candidates to submit the requirements was Dec. 29.