Concacaf now has four direct slots for the 2023 Women’s World Cup, the Bureau of the FIFA Council announced Thursday.

The confederation had three teams qualify directly to France 2019, with a fourth side battling in an intercontinental playoff against a team from another continent.

Following the success of the 2019 edition, the decision was taken last year to expand the World Cup to 32 teams.

FIFA has since worked closely with the confederations to formulate a proposal for the allocation of slots and the Bureau of the FIFA Council has today confirmed the following berths for the 2023 edition:

Direct slot allocation (29 of the 32 participation slots)

* 6 direct slots for the AFC (Asia)

* 4 direct slots for CAF (Africa)

* 4 direct slots for Concacaf

* 3 direct slots for CONMEBOL (South America)

* 1 direct slot for the OFC (Oceania)

* 11 direct slots for UEFA (Europe)

The two host countries, Australia and New Zealand, will automatically qualify for the World Cup, and their slots have been taken directly from the quotas allocated to their confederations, namely the AFC and the OFC respectively.

Play-off tournament slot allocation (3)

The three remaining slots will be decided through a ten-team play-off tournament with the following playoff slot allocation:

* 2 playoff slots for the AFC

* 2 playoff slots for CAF

* 2 playoff slots for Concacaf

* 2 playoff slots for CONMEBOL

* 1 playoff slot for the OFC

* 1 playoff slot for UEFA

Playoff tournament format

Four teams will be seeded in the tournament based on the latest FIFA/Women’s World Ranking prior to the playoff draw, with a maximum of one seeded team per confederation.

In Group 1, comprising three teams, seed 1 will play for a place in the Women’s World Cup against the winners of the knockout game involving the two unseeded teams in the group.

In Group 2, comprising three teams, seed 2 will play for a place in the World Cup against the winners of the knockout game involving the two unseeded teams in the group.

In Group 3, comprising four teams, seeds 3 and seed 4 will play against the two unseeded teams in the group, with the two winners then playing for a place in the Women’s World Cup.

Teams from the same confederation will not be permitted to be drawn in the same group.

The playoff tournament will be used as a test event in Australia and New Zealand for the Women’s World Cup. Both hosts will be invited to participate in friendly matches against the teams in Group 1 and Group 2, ensuring that all teams play two matches during the tournament.

FIFA U-20 World Cup and FIFA U-17 World Cup

As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Bureau of the FIFA Council has decided to cancel the 2021 editions of the men’s U-20 World Cup and U-17 World Cup, and to appoint Indonesia and Peru respectively, who were due to host the tournaments in 2021, as the hosts of the 2023 editions.

The COVID-19 pandemic continues to present challenges for the hosting of international sporting events and to have a restrictive effect on international travel. FIFA has consulted the relevant stakeholders, including the host member associations as well as the confederations involved in both tournaments originally scheduled to take place in 2021. In doing so, it became clear that the global situation has failed to normalize to a sufficient level to address the challenges associated with hosting both tournaments, including the feasibility of the relevant qualification pathways.