The Long Island Junior Soccer League announced its Hall of Fame Class of 2020, during the it’s general meeting Dec. 8.

Kevin Ferrari (Massapequa SC), George “Skip” Haile (Merrick/South Merrick SC), Christopher McGovern (Plainedge SC) and Kostadinos “Kosta” Siskidis (Stony Brook SC, LIJSL Games) were introduced as the newest members of the league’s Hall of Fame. The four were to be recognized at the league’s annual convention in March, which was canceled at the early onset of the COVID-19 pandemic.

“As with all-things ‘2020’, we unfortunately had to place the recognition of these four long-time valued volunteers ‘on pause’ earlier this year,” Steve Padaetz, the LIJSL managing director to the virtual assemblage of 100 member clubs. “We are pleased to take this opportunity to formally recognize these most-deserving individuals.”

The LIJSL Hall of Fame, established in 1978, seeks to honor those individuals who have made significant voluntary contributions to the development of youth soccer. The Hall includes 117 members.

The league plans to induct this new class at a private ceremony to be held for each of them and their families at the league offices early next year.

Front Row Soccer editor Michael Lewis has covered 13 World Cups (eight men, five women), seven Olympics and 25 MLS Cups. He has written about New York City FC, New York Cosmos, the New York Red Bulls and both U.S. national teams for Newsday and has penned a soccer history column for the Lewis, who has been honored by the Press Club of Long Island and National Soccer Coaches Association of America, is the former editor of He has written seven books about the beautiful game and has published ALIVE AND KICKING The incredible but true story of the Rochester Lancers. It is available at