Canada men’s national team member Alphonso Davies has been named the 2020 Canadian men’s player of the year by Canada Soccer.

Davies won the national award for the second time in three seasons after a record-setting year in which he won five club trophies with Bayern Munich, including his first UEFA Champions League title.

He was named the 2019-20 Bundesliga rookie of the season and was shortlisted as a nominee for the UEFA team of the year, UEFA defender of the year, and Tuttosport’s Golden Boy Award for Under-21 players. Across the calendar year, he was part of Bayern’s streaks of 23 consecutive wins and 32 undefeated matches, which included the 2019-20 Bundesliga title, the DFB-Pokal (German Cup), the UEFA Champions League title and UEFA Super Cup title. He lifted his fifth trophy of the year when Bayern won Germany’s DFL-Supercup.

The Edmonton, Alberta native was honored from a vote shared by Canadian media and coaches, earning the highest voting score just a fraction better than Christine Sinclair’s record from 2012. The Canadian players of the year award is shared by winners from both Canada Soccer’s men’s and women’s national teams, with Davies’ 2020 co-winner to be announced Friday.

“To see what Alphonso Davies has accomplished this year is awe inspiring for the next generation of players,” Canada men’s head coach John Herdman said in a statement. “His achievements have raised the flag in our sport higher than anyone else in our lifetime on the men’s side of the game and he has helped put this country as a football country on the world map.

“Alphonso has to be commended for his passion and spirit with which he plays, but also for his ability to connect with people off the field. He is a real ambassador for our sport in Canada and on the global stage.”


Past winners of the Canadian Players of the Year Award
2019 Jonathan David & Ashley Lawrence
2018 Alphonso Davies & Christine Sinclair
2017 Atiba Hutchinson & Kadeisha Buchanan
2016 Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2015 Atiba Hutchinson & Kadeisha Buchanan
2014 Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2013 Will Johnson & Christine Sinclair
2012 Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2011 Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2010 Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2009 Simeon Jackson & Christine Sinclair
2008 Julian de Guzman & Christine Sinclair
2007 Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2006 Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2005 Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2004 Paul Stalteri & Christine Sinclair
2003 Pat Onstad & Charmaine Hooper
2002 Jason deVos & Charmaine Hooper
2001 Paul Stalteri & Andrea Neil
2000 Craig Forrest & Christine Sinclair
1999 Jim Brennan & Geraldine Donnelly
1998 Tomasz Radzinski & Silvana Burtini
1997 Mark Watson & Janine Helland
1996 Paul Peschisolido & Geraldine Donnelly
1995 Alex Bunbury & Charmaine Hooper
1994 Craig Forrest & Charmaine Hooper
1993 Alex Bunbury