CHICAGO – U.S. men’s national team head coach Gregg Berhalter has called 22 players to training camp in South Florida ahead of USA-El Salvador Dec. 9.

Kickoff for the USMNT’s first match at the home of Inter Miami CF in Fort Lauderdale is set for 7:30 p.m. ET, and the match will be broadcast live on an ESPN Network, UniMás and TUDN.

With an eye towards the significant competitions next year, the almost-exclusively domestic-based roster follows a similar approach to the to the November friendlies, comprising core national team players as well as younger players who have earned opportunities. The match falls outside of a FIFA international window, leaving players still in season largely unavailable for selection.

Additional players may be added following the completion of the MLS Western Conference semifinals.

“Since returning to the field, the focus has been on continuing to build on our foundation and preparing the team for important competitions in 2021,” Berhalter said. “We have utilized these opportunities to work with our core group while evaluating young talent in an effort to strengthen our overall player pool.”

Three players earned a spot on the 2020 MLS Best XI, led by defender of the year and Nashville SC center back Walker Zimmerman. He was joined by the Philadelphia Union duo of Brenden Aaronson, a midfielder, and Mark McKenzie, a defender. All three appeared in the USMNT’s 1-0 win against Costa Rica Feb. 1, 2020, along with roster mates Paul Arriola, Bill Hamid, Sebastian Lletget, Long and Sam Vines

Aaronson and first-time USMNT call-up Daryl Dike of Orlando City SC were also finalists for the 2020 MLS young player of the year award.

LA Galaxy midfielder Sebastian Lletget also was called into the U.S. camp for a pair of games in Europe earlier this month. He started the 1-1 draw in Wales.

The roster (club/caps/goals)

GOALKEEPERS (3): CJ Dos Santos (Benfica/POR; 0/0), Bill Hamid (D.C. United; 7/0), David Ochoa (Real Salt Lake; 0/0)

DEFENDERS (8): Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy; 0/0), Kyle Duncan (New York Red Bulls; 0/0), Marco Farfan (Portland Timbers; 0/0, Aaron Long (New York Red Bulls; 17/3), Mark McKenzie (Philadelphia Union; 1/0), Mauricio Pineda (Chicago Fire; 0/0), Sam Vines (Colorado Rapids; 1/0), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC; 12/2)

MIDFIELDERS (5): Brenden Aaronson (Philadelphia Union; 1/0), Kellyn Acosta (Colorado Rapids; 23/2), Frankie Amaya (FC Cincinnati; 0/0), Cole Bassett (Colorado Rapids; 0/0), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy; 16/3)

FORWARDS (6): Ayo Akinola (Toronto FC/CAN; 0/0), Efrain Alvarez (LA Galaxy; 0/0), Paul Arriola (D.C. United; 33/5), Daryl Dike (Orlando City SC; 0/0), Djordje Mihailovic (Chicago Fire; 5/1), Chris Mueller (Orlando City SC; 0/0)