NEW YORK – Major League Soccer announced Monday that Philadelphia Union’s Andre Blake has been voted its goalkeeper of the year.

The Jamaican international captain captured the second MLS goalkeeper of the year award of his career, placing him in a five-way tie for the most in MLS history after earning the honor in 2016.

Blake enjoyed a memorable season, helping the Union capture the first trophy in club history while boasting the stingiest defense in the league. Philadelphia led MLS with 20 goals allowed, its 0.87 goals allowed per game average the seventh-best in MLS history. The Union also recorded the most points-per-game in the league, earning the Supporters’ Shield and home-field advantage throughout the MLS Cup Playoffs.

Blake posted a 77.8 save percentage and allowed 18 goals in his regular season appearances for an 0.88 goals-against average, both league bests for goalkeepers with 20 or more appearances. The 29-year-old’s 13 goalkeeper wins also led MLS. Philly posted a 13-3-5 record in matches Blake started between the posts.

Among the top moments for Blake this season include a diving save in a 2-1 victory over the New England Revolution on Oct. 19, which is one of 12 finalists for the MLS save of the year. Fan voting ends on Wednesday at 9 p.m. ET. The 29-year-old also registered an eight-save performance in a 3-3 shootout draw against the Los Angeles FC March 8. Blake’s eight saves were tied for the most by a goalkeeper in any regular season match this season.

He also was named one of five finalists for the Landon Donovan MLS MVP award, the first time a goalkeeper has been named a finalist for the award since Joe Cannon in 2004.

The goalkeeper of the year award was voted on by MLS club technical staff, media and current MLS players.


MLS Goalkeeper of the Year Player % Club % Media % Final %
Andre Blake (PHI) 33.02% 49.12% 50.21% 44.12%
Matt Turner (NE) 8.49% 11.40% 16.74% 12.21%
Eloy Room (CLB) 10.03% 6.14% 6.14% 7.44%
Pedro Gallese (ORL) 8.49% 7.02% 5.08% 6.86%
Stefan Frei (SEA) 4.78% 7.89% 5.30% 5.99%
Sean Johnson (NYC) 4.32% 7.02% 5.72% 5.69%


MLS Goalkeeper of the Year Winners:
2020: Andre Blake (2) – Philadelphia Union
2019: Vito Mannone – Minnesota United FC
2018: Zack Steffen – Columbus Crew SC
2017: Tim Melia – Sporting Kansas City
2016: Andre Blake – Philadelphia Union
2015: Luis Robles – New York Red Bulls
2014: Bill Hamid – D.C. United
2013: Donovan Ricketts (2) – Portland Timbers
2012: Jimmy Nielsen – Sporting Kansas City
2011: Kasey Keller – Seattle Sounders FC
2010: Donovan Ricketts – LA Galaxy
2009: Zach Thornton (2) – Chivas USA
2008: Jon Busch – Chicago Fire
2007: Brad Guzan – Chivas USA
2006: Troy Perkins – D.C. United
2005: Pat Onstad (2) – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Joe Cannon (2) – Colorado Rapids
2003: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes
2002: Joe Cannon – San Jose Earthquakes
2001: Tim Howard – MetroStars
2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Kevin Hartman – LA Galaxy
1998: Zach Thornton – Chicago Fire
1997: Brad Friedel – Columbus Crew SC
1996: Mark Dodd – Dallas Burn