NEW YORK – Major League Soccer Friday announced that Los Angeles Football Club and former Red Bulls forward Bradley Wright-Philips has been named the 2020 MLS comeback player of the year.

As one of the most prolific goalscorers in MLS history, Wright-Philips combined for eight goals and six assists in 2020. He made a statement in his return to action this year, scoring in his first three games, all during the MLS is Back Tournament in Orlando, and had four goals over a five-game span from Sept. 23-Oct. 11. His 14 combined goals and assists were among the top 10 in MLS this season.

Among LAFC teammates, Wright-Phillips’ goal tally ranks second only to the league-leader Diego Rossi, who won the 2020 MLS Golden Boot presented by Audi, and his 0.44 goals-per-game average ranks top-four in his decorated scoring career. Wright-Phillips also proved to be the most efficient playmaker in the league this season, averaging 1.165 goals and assists per 90 minutes, the highest in MLS among players with 1,000 or more minutes played.

BWP, who worked his way through the MLS record books in his eight MLS seasons, earned a 12th career MLS player of the week honor this year, the third-most in MLS history, after scoring two goals in a five-minute span against Vancouver Whitecaps FC on Sept. 24.

Wright-Phillips still holds the record as the fastest player to reach 100 goals, and his 116 regular season finishes rank No. 6 all-time in MLS history.

The comeback player of the year award was voted on by MLS club technical staff, media and current MLS players.


Comeback Player Player % Club % Media % Final %
Bradley Wright-Phillips (LAFC) 39.01% 37.72% 43.25% 39.99%
Kevin Molino (MIN) 19.58% 28.95% 17.13% 21.89%
Milton Valenzuela (CLB) 4.52% 14.04% 8.57% 9.04%
Florian Valot (NY) 4.22% 6.14% 8.99% 6.45%
Brek Shea (MIA) 7.98% 1.75% 5.57% 5.10%
Carles Gil (NE) 4.37% 2.63% 2.78% 3.26%
Michael Bradley (TOR) 4.67% 3.51% 1.50% 3.23%
Jaroslaw Niezgoda (POR) 2.11% 2.63% 4.93% 3.22%

MLS Comeback Player of the Year Winners:
2020: Bradley Wright-Phillips – Los Angeles Football Cub
2019: Jordan Morris – Seattle Sounders FC
2018: Gyasi Zardes – Columbus Crew SC
2017: Clint Dempsey – Seattle Sounders FC
2016: Chris Pontius – Philadelphia Union
2015: Tim Melia – Sporting Kansas City
2014: Rodney Wallace – Portland Timbers
2013: Kevin Alston – New England Revolution
2012: Eddie Johnson – Seattle Sounders FC
2011: David Beckham – LA Galaxy
2010: Bobby Convey – San Jose Earthquakes
2009: Zach Thornton – Chivas USA
2008: Kenny Cooper – FC Dallas
2007: Eddie Johnson – Kansas City Wizards
2006: Richard Mulrooney – FC Dallas
2005: Chris Klein – Kansas City Wizards
2004: Brian Ching – San Jose Earthquakes
2003: Chris Armas – Chicago Fire
2002: Chris Klein – Kansas City Wizards
2001: Troy Dayak – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards