NEW YORK – Major League Soccer announced Friday that it will honor its 25 greatest players in its 25-year history.

A special panel of more than 200 MLS experts from across North America will select the 25 players who achieved the most on the field, drove the narrative off the field, and lay the foundation for MLS’s next 25 years.

The voting panel is comprised of four groups: MLS greats and emeritus (former players, coaches, staff), current MLS club staff, media members and broadcast partners (local and national). MLS invited panelists based on years of experience within MLS, geographic balance, and game expertise.

MLS has nominated 134 of the most decorated and impactful players in League history. The league prioritized players who accomplished one or more of the following as an MLS player:

* Received multiple League-wide individual honors such as:

* Best XI, MVP, Golden Boot, Defender/GK of the Year, All-Star Selections

* Won major team trophies such as:

— MLS Cup, Supporters Shield, U.S. Open Cup, international club competitions

* Made extraordinary off-field contributions or impact

* Rank among the all-time leaders in key statistical areas

The full list of nominees can be viewed HERE on

The league also announced that it will honor the top goal from its first 25 seasons with The Greatest Goal. An initial list of 25 top goals will be determined by MLS. Fans will rank their choices among these standout plays on to determine The Greatest Goal.

The 25 Greatest will be revealed on Dec. 9, three days prior to the 2020 MLS Cup. Given that their achievements vary by type, position, era and circumstance, The 25 Greatest will not be ranked. They are all equally worthy of this prestigious honor, according to an MLS press release.

The Greatest Goal voting will launch following MLS Cup from Dec. 14-17, with the winner recognized Dec. 18.