MIAMI – Concacaf Thursday announced a new format for the final rounds of the 2020 Concacaf League with the introduction of single leg quarterfinals, semifinals and final.

While the confederation did not say so in a press release, the COVID-19 pandemic had to be part of Concacaf’s decision to change the competition. Several games have had to be postponed because of players and individuals on clubs testing positive for the Coronavirus.

The 2020 edition of the competition resumed last week with compelling Preliminary Round matchups involving clubs from Central America and Canada.

The Preliminary Round and Round of 16 of the 2020 SCL already had been organized in a single leg format. The decision to extend the single leg format for the final rounds of the competition has been approved by the Concacaf Council and aims “to reduce the travel and administrative burden on the participating clubs at this challenging time,” the confederation said in a press release.

The competition qualifies six teams to the Concacaf Champions League. In the original format, the winning quarterfinalists and the two best losing quarterfinalists based on performance in the SCL would qualify.

However, and for this edition only, the qualification from the Concacaf League into the 2021 Concacaf Champions League will be altered to account for the reformatting of the competition, in particular the reduced number of matches.

The four quarterfinal winners will continue to qualify directly to the Concacaf Champions League for the 2021 edition. The four losing quarterfinalists will compete in single leg play-in games with the two winners qualifying for next year’s premier regional club competition. The pairings for the play-in matches will be determined by the tournament bracket, which can be found here and below.

For all matchups in all rounds of the 2020 CL, the highest ranked club based on the Concacaf club rankings will host the single leg games.

These changes to the competition have no bearing on the previously rescheduled Preliminary Round and Round of 16 games for which the match dates and kick off times are as follows:

Preliminary Round
*Eastern Time (Local Time) and home team listed first

Wednesday, November 4, 2020 
18:00 (17:00) LD Alajuelense (CRC) vs. Cibao FC (DOM)

Round of 16
*Eastern Time (Local Time) and home team listed first

Tuesday, November 3, 2020 
20:00 (20:00) Tauro FC (PAN) vs Forge FC (CAN)
22:15 (21:15) CD Marathon (HON) vs Antigua GFC (GUA)

Wednesday, November 4, 2020 
20:15 (19:15) Deportivo Saprissa (CRC) vs CSD Municipal (GUA)
22:30 (21:30) Alianza FC (SLV) vs FC Motagua (HON)

Thursday, November 5, 2020 
18:00 (18:00) Waterhouse FC (JAM) vs Arcahaie FC (HAI)
20:15 (19:15) CS Herediano (CRC) vs Real Esteli FC (NCA)
22:30 (21:30) CD Olimpia (HON) vs Managua FC (NCA)