The Concacaf qualification pathway for the World Cup Qatar 2022 will take shape on Wednesday, Aug. 19 in at FIFA headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland at 1 p.m. ET.

With 35 member associations from across North, Central America and the Caribbean ready for the competition, the preliminary draw will determine the tournament pathway for the first and final rounds under the new qualification format.

Based on the FIFA world ranking as of July 16, the draw for the first round will allocate the 30 lowest-ranked Concacaf teams to six groups. This will be followed by the draw for the final round, which will indicate the position of each team within the final qualification stage, which will also be contested in a group format.

The pots for the first-round draw are as follows:

Pot 1: El Salvador, Canada, Curaçao, Panama, Haiti, Trinidad and Tobago

Pot 2: Antigua and Barbuda, Guatemala, St Kitts and Nevis, Suriname, Nicaragua, Dominican Republic

Pot 3: Grenada, Barbados, Guyana, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Bermuda, Belize

Pot 4: St Lucia, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Montserrat, Dominica, Cayman Islands

Pot 5: Bahamas, Aruba, Turks and Caicos Islands, US Virgin Islands, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla

The six highest-ranked teams in the first round – El Salvador, Canada, Curaçao, Panama, Haiti, and Trinidad and Tobago – will be pre-seeded into groups A to F respectively. The first round will be played in a single round-robin format, meaning each team will play four matches: two home and two away.

During the second round, the six group winners will face off in a home-and-away elimination format in three predetermined pairings. The winners of each tie will proceed to the final round.

The final round will see the three winners from the second round join the five highest-ranked Concacaf teams according to the world rankings as of July 16, which will play each other in a home-and-away round-robin format.

The pots for the final-round draw are as follows:

Pot A: Mexico, USA, Costa Rica, Jamaica, Honduras, winner of A vs F, winner of B vs E, winner of C vs D

Pot B: teams 1-8

Fans can follow the draw live on, with the exception of the territories where the draw will be broadcast live on TV.