HARRISON, N.J. – The Red Bulls return to play at Major League Soccer home markets kicks against New York City FC at Red Bull Arena on Thursday, Aug. 20.

The return to play in home markets will feature comprehensive health and safety protocols, including regular testing of players, coaches and essential staff for COVID-19.

Each club will play 18 additional regular season games in a phased approach, culminating with Decision Day on Sunday, Nov. 8. In an expansion of the postseason for 2020, 18 clubs will compete in the MLS Cup Playoffs — up from 14 teams last year. MLS Cup will be played on Dec. 12.

MLS announced today the initial phase of the league’s revised schedule with each U.S. club playing six matches by Sept. 14. The Red Bulls will host NYCFC, D.C. United and Philadelphia Union, with trips to D.C., Philadelphia and New England scheduled as well. The full schedule is below.

Red Bull Arena also will be the host venue for New York City FC’s home matches.

For the health and safety of all involved, and in an attempt to limit the spread of COVID-19 in the  community, matches at Red Bull Arena will resume without fans.

“Our fans are at the center of everything we do, and while we miss seeing them at Red Bull Arena, the safest thing for everyone involved is to limit the opportunities for exposure in our community,” Red Bulls general manager Marc de Grandpre said in a statement. “We are all excited about getting back on the field, but we must do so in the safest and most responsible way possible.”

MSG Networks will broadcast five of the six matches, while the Red Bulls will play on FS1 once, a meeting with the New England Revolution at Gillette Stadium on Saturday, August 29. Red Bulls Radio will carry all matches as well.


New York Red Bulls schedule
Time (ET)
Thursday, Aug 20 (MSG)
Red Bull Arena
7:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Aug 25 (MSG)
Philadelphia Union
Subaru Park
7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Aug 29 (FS1)
NE Revolution
Gillette Stadium
8:00 p.m.
Wednesday, Sept 2 (MSG)
D.C. United
Red Bull Arena
7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Sept 6 (MSG)
Philadelphia Union
Red Bull Arena
7:00 p.m.
Saturday, Sept 12 (MSG)
D.C. United
Audi Field
7:00 p.m