The Long Island Junior Soccer League has announced the 28 recipients for the league’s annual scholarship program.

Each year, the LIJSL awards student-athletes in their senior year of high school with scholarships.

“This has not been an easy year, but even in a pandemic, we have donors who continue to be generous and recipients that are worthy,” scholarship chairpeson Lynn Scarpati said. “We have all found something special in crisis and ways to face these challenges.”

This year’s scholarship recipients mark the program’s 40th year of providing exceptional students with awards.

“The league would like to acknowledge and express it’s appreciation for the tremendous support the program has received from sponsors and foundations,” LIJSL managing director Steve Padaetz said. “The continued backing from our supporters has been an essential piece to the Program’s longstanding 40 years of success.”


Award Recipient High School College Attending
Addei Matei-Iaia Presidential Scholarship Matthew Power Northport UMass Amherst
Bobbie & David Marks Memorial Scholarship Danielle DiTomasso Plainedge Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Bobbie & David Marks Memorial Scholarship Emily Rosa-Figueirdo St. John the Baptist Quinnipiac University
Bobbie & David Marks Memorial Scholarship Scott Thorley Eastport South Manor UMass Amherst
Brittney Walsh Memorial Scholarship Nicole Jenal Bethpage Felician University
Brittney Walsh Memorial Scholarship Gregory Paul Mepham Alfred University
Carolyn Page Memorial Scholarship Makayla Reardon Sacred Heart Academy Fairfield University
Eileen Frazita Memorial Female Student Scholarship Sarah Santacroce Mattituck Sacred Heart University
Frank Gorman Memorial Scholarship Halle Trahey East Islip Molloy College
Jerry Marinan Memorial Scholarship Michael Leandrou Oyster Bay American University
John R. Pinezich Memorial Scholarship Conor Andrews Calhoun The Ohio University
Joseph Lombardo Memorial Scholarship Matthew Jakubowsky St. Anthony’s St. John’s University
LIJSL Merit Scholarship Olivia Vinson Wantagh Binghampton University
LIJSL Merit Scholarship Leyla Kalmaz Carey Molloy College
Matthew Scarpati Memorial Scholarship Ross Gossett Bellmore JFK University of Maryland
Michael B. Scarpati Memorial Goalkeeper Scholarship Michael Koutsouras New Hyde Park Fairleigh Dickinson University
Michael Secko Memorial Scholarship Tyler McElwee Mepham SUNY Oneonta
Miles for Matt Scholarship Declan Griffin New Hyde Park Susquehanna University
Miles for Matt Scholarship Gaetano Parisi Mepham Roger Williams University
Miles for Matt Scholarship Megan McIntosh Riverhead Molloy College
Pat Grecco Scholarship Abigail Landri West Islip SUNY Oneonta
Peter C. Collins Memorial Presidential Scholarship Rory King Mepham Northeastern University
Sandra Atlas Bass Scholarship Kaylee Hoffman St. Anthony’s University of Georgia
Sean Urda Memorial Scholarship Daniel Conigliaro General MacArthur Adelphi University
Rocco Amoroso Memorial Sportsmanship Scholarship Luca Rienecker St. Anthony’s University of Rochester
George Hoffman Memorial TOPSoccer Scholarship Annalea Passeggiata Smithtown Binghampton University
George Hoffman Memorial TOPSoccer Scholarship Hannah Walz West Hempstead Molloy College
LIJSL TOPSoccer Scholarship Timothy Cappitelli South Side Fairfield University