KANSAS CITY – There will be no Major Arena Soccer League champion for the 2019-20 season.

The league said Wednesday that the Ron Newman Cup playoffs would not be held this season.

Instead, the MASL board of directors voted Tuesday to officially conclude the 2019-2020 season and recognize the Monterrey Flash and Florida Tropics as Western and Eastern Conference regular season champions.

The board, however, did not declare a playoff champion. No reason was given.

With each team leading their conference from opening day to the unexpected end to the season, the MASL’s board of directors felt it was important to recognize their achievements even though there would not be any playoffs, according to the league website.

The 2019-2020 season was cut short on March 12 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Prior to that, the Flash and Tropics had dominated their schedules and raced to the top of their conference tables.

This was the third consecutive season that the Flash finished atop the Western Conference. Led by second team All-MASL forward Brayan Aguilar, the Flash finished at 20-2, including 11 wins at home.

The Tropics (18-3) were the MASL’s busiest team prior to opening day. They added 12 players to their roster. Ricardo Carvalho led the way offensively while Drew Ruggles helped to shut down their opponents and earn himself the defender of the year award.