WEST LONG BRANCH, N.J. – Monmouth University men’s head coach Robert McCourt Tuesday announced the team’s 2020 schedule, beginning with three consecutive home matches to open the season.

“We are very excited to have put together another fantastic schedule for the 2020 season,” said McCourt. “Our non-conference section of the schedule has us playing some strong opposition both at home and on the road. Our game at UConn in their new soccer stadium will be another great student-athlete experience. The MAAC section of the schedule brings tough battles every game, which is a tribute to quality of the teams and coaches in our league.”

The Hawks will open the campaign on Friday, August 28 hosting Howard, followed by two more matches against Santa Clara (first meeting) and Saint Joseph’s at Hesse Field on the Great Lawn.

Road contests at Penn and UConn will follow on September 7 and 11, respectively. Monmouth advanced in penalty kicks over the #12 Huskies in the 2009 NCAA Tournament.

The Blue & White will wrap up non-conference play with two home matches, including Binghamton on September 19 and George Mason on September 22. The last two times the Hawks and Bearcats have met, the game ended in a double overtime scoreless draw. Monmouth will meet the Patriots for the first time since 2007.

On September 30, Monmouth will open MAAC play against Rider. The 2020 regular season comes to a close on November 4, when the Hawks travel to Siena.

 

 

Day/Date                     OPPONENT                                          Time

Mon., Aug. 17             at Seton Hall (Scrimmage)                  TBA

Sat., Aug. 22                BUCKNELL (Scrimmage)                      TBA

Fri., Aug. 28                 HOWARD                                            7:00 PM

Mon., Aug. 31             SANTA CLARA                                     7:00 PM

Thu., Sep. 3                 SAINT JOSEPH’S                                  7:00 PM

Mon., Sep. 7                at Penn                                                7:00 PM

Fri., Sep. 11                 at UCONN                                           7:00 PM

Sat., Sep. 19                BINGHAMTON                                    7:00 PM

Tue., Sep. 22               GEORGE MASON                                 7:00 PM

Wed., Sep. 30              *RIDER                                                7:00 PM

Sat., Oct. 3                  *at Saint Peter’s                                  2:00 PM

Wed., Oct. 7                *FAIRFIELD                                          7:00 PM

Sat., Oct. 10                *at Iona                                               2:00 PM

Sat., Oct. 17                *CANISIUS                                           1:00 PM

Wed., Oct. 21              *MARIST                                             7:00 PM

Sat., Oct. 24                *at Quinnipiac                                    2:00 PM

Wed., Oct. 28              *MANHATTAN                                    7:00 PM

Sat., Oct. 31                *at Niagara                                         7:00 PM

Wed., Nov. 4               *at Siena                                             7:00 PM