Sean Davis will succeed Luis Robles as Red Bulls captain. (Photo courtesy of the Red Bulls)

There’s a new captain in town for the Red Bulls.

Midfielder Sean Davis was named captain, head coach Chris Armas announced Thursday.

Davis succeeds goalkeeper Luis Robles, who was released in the offseason. Robles, who was picked up by Inter Miami, was named that expansion team’s first captain.

Coming through the Red Bulls system, Davis was part of the Red Bulls Under-23 team that captured the National Premier Soccer League crwn in 2014. He capped off the season as a starter in the championship match and assisted the game-winning goal. Davis also spent two seasons with the Red Bulls U-18s, starting 50 matches, which included a team-best 31 starts.

Davis, 26, made his first Major League Soccer appearance in 2015, with four starts and 14 appearances in his rookie season. He has gone on to log more 8,000 minutes across 124 games played in MLS action.

Across Concacaf Champions League and Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup play, Davis has also been a mainstay. He logged eight starts and nine appearances in the Open Cup while also serving as team captain in 2018. He also has seen action in 16 CCL matches, dating back to 2016 group stages.

Davis was a four-year standout at Duke University, succeeding both on and off the field. He was named the 2014 Atlantic Coast Conference midfielder of the year and placed on the 2014 All-ACC first team and All-ACC second team twice. Davis was a three-time All-ACC Academic team and placed to the ACC-Academic Honor Roll three times.

Red Bulls captains

1996: Peter Vermes
1997 – 98: Tony Meola
1999 – 2002: Tab Ramos
2003 – 04: Eddie Pope
2005: Youri Djorkaeff/Amado Guevara
2006: Youri Djorkaeff/Amado Guevara/Tony Meola
2007: Claudio Reyna
2008: Claudio Reyna/Juan Pablo Angel
2009 – 10: Juan Pablo Angel
2011 – 14: Thierry Henry
2015 – 16: Dax McCarty
2017: Sacha Kljestan
2018-2019: Luis Robles
2020: Sean Davis