FRISCO, Texas – Ballots for election to the National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2020 via the Player category have been finalized, with 14 retired players meeting the eligibility criteria.

Ballots for the Veteran and Builder categories will be revealed at a later date, with voting for all three to commence on Wednesday, March 18.

Players in their first year of eligibility include: U.S. World Cup alumni Brad Davis (2014), Whitney Engen (2015), Herculez Gomez (2010), Clarence Goodson (2010) and Hope Solo (2007, 2011, 2015); former MLS MVPs Mike Magee (2013) and Carlos Ruiz (2002); MLS Best XI selections Nat Borchers (2010), Conor Casey (2009), Justin Mapp (2006), Jamison Olave (2010, 2011) and Robbie Rogers (2008); and WPS All-Stars Jen Buczkowski (2011) and Kelly Smith (2009, 2010).

In order to be eligible for election as a player, he or she must be retired for at least three full calendar years, but for no more than 10 full calendar years, and have either:

1) Played in at least 20 full international games for the U.S.; if played prior to 1990, the game requirement is reduced to 10 games, or

2) Played at least five seasons in an American first-division professional league and named to a postseason league All-Star team at least once.

The voting pool includes all past and present full men’s and women’s national team coaches, all active MLS and NWSL head coaches with a minimum of four years of experience as a head coach at the highest level in the United States, MLS and NWSL management representatives, the MLS and NWSL commissioners/executive director, U.S. Soccer CEO/secretary general, U.S. Soccer President, designated media members and all Hall of Famers.

Each voter can select up to 10 candidates per ballot. Any player appearing on at least 66.7 percent of ballots will earn election, while any player who does not appear on at least five percent of ballots will be removed from voting contention until they qualify for the Veteran ballot.

Of the 42 individuals on the Player ballot, Chris Klein, Eddie Lewis, Kate Sobrero Markgraf, Clint Mathis, Jaime Moreno and Steve Ralston are in their final year of eligibility.


David Beckham
Gregg Berhalter
Carlos Bocanegra
Nat Borchers*
Shannon Boxx
Jen Buczkowski*
Conor Casey*
Lori Chalupney
Lauren Cheney Holiday
Steve Cherundolo
Brian Ching
Kenny Cooper
Jeff Cunningham
Brad Davis*
Whitney Engen*
Herculez Gomez*
Clarence Goodson*
Kevin Hartman
Frankie Hejduk
Thierry Henry
Stuart Holden
Eddie Johnson
Chris Klein**
Amy LePeilbet
Eddie Lewis**
Lori Lindsey
Mike Magee*
Justin Mapp*
Kate Sobrero Markgraf**
Pablo Mastroeni
Clint Mathis**
Heather Mitts
Jaime Moreno**
Jamison Olave*
Steve Ralston**
Cat Reddick Whitehill
Robbie Rogers*
Carlos Ruiz*
Hope Solo*
Kelly Smith*
Aly Wagner
Josh Wolff

*First year of eligibility

**Final year of eligibility; moves to Veteran ballot in 2021

The 2020 National Soccer Hall Fame induction ceremony will take place on Saturday, Sept. 19 at the National Soccer Hall of Fame at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas.