TAMPA, Fla. – Miami FC compete in its third league within a year in 2020.

Ottawa Sports and Entertainment Group announced Wednesday that it had exercised it’s right to relocate and have sold its franchise rights to Miami FC.

The club will play all home matches at Riccardo Silva Stadium in Miami, Fla.

Miami FC played in the National Premier Soccer League, winning the league championship, and the National Independent Soccer Association in 2019.

Ottawa Fury FC averaged nearly 5,000 fans over the past three seasons and reached the USL Championship playoffs in 2019, before not receiving the sanctioning required this past November and being forced to suspend play for 2020 while the club explored the relocation transfer options contractually permitted to them by the USL.

“We are extremely grateful to USL CEO Alec Papadakis and president Jake Edwards for their leadership and whole-hearted support during this difficult process,” Ottawa Fury FC president John Pugh said. “We’re also thankful to Paul Dalglish and his team for helping to facilitate this transaction and wish The Miami FC well.”

Miami FC has enjoyed much success in recent years, winning nine trophies and establishing itself in the Miami soccer community. The club launched the Miami FC Youth Academy Program this year.

“We could not be more excited to bring The Miami FC to the USL Championship in 2020,” Miami FC general manager Paul Dalglish said. “We will build on the Fury’s success and honor their history, while also elevating our club and our community as part of the fastest growing professional soccer league in the United States. I want to thank Ottawa Sports Entertainment Group for putting this deal together, and to USL CEO Alec Papadakis for welcoming us to the league.”