NEW YORK – For the first time, Major League Soccer will kick off its season in February.

The league Thursday announced dates for all 26 club home openers for its 25th season in 2020.

All 26 clubs will begin play on the opening weekend. Eight games will be held on Feb. 29 — Leap Year Day.

That includes the debuts of MLS’ two new expansion clubs, Inter Miami CF and Nashville SC. Nashville SC will open the season at home Saturday, Feb. 29, hosting perennial powerhouse Atlanta United, while Inter Miami CF will travel to Los Angeles to face Los Angeles Football Club Sunday, March 1 at Banc of California Stadium.

Opening weekend also will see MLS Cup champion Seattle Sounders FC kick off defense of its title against Chicago Fire FC at home at CenturyLink Field Sunday, March 1.

The first four weekends will be filled with landmark moments. On Saturday, March 14, Inter Miami CF will make its home debut, hosting David Beckham’s former team, the LA Galaxy, at the club’s temporary venue, Inter Miami CF Stadium in Fort Lauderdale, Fla. One week later, on Saturday, March 21, Chicago Fire FC will make a return to Soldier Field in downtown Chicago, hosting Atlanta United.

Each club will play 34 games, including 17 home games and 17 away games. Teams will face each of their conference opponents twice during the season, one game at home and one game away, for a total of 24 matches. The additional 10 regular season games will be played against opponents from the other conference. Those inter-conference opponents will be revealed with the full 2020 schedule soon.

2020 MLS Home Openers

Saturday, February 29, 2020:

  • 1 pm ET – D.C. United vs. Colorado Rapids Rapids (Audi Field)
  • 3 pm ET – Montreal Impact vs. New England Revolution (Stade Olympique)
  • 3:30 pm ET – Houston Dynamo vs. LA Galaxy (BBVA Stadium)
  • 5:30 pm ET – San Jose Earthquakes vs. Toronto FC (Avaya Stadium)
  • 6 pm ET – FC Dallas vs. Philadelphia Union (Toyota Stadium)
  • 6 pm ET – Orlando City SC vs. Real Salt Lake (Exploria Stadium)
  • 8 pm ET – Nashville SC vs. Atlanta United (Nissan Stadium)
  • 10:30 pm ET – Vancouver Whitecaps FC vs. Sporting Kansas City (BC Place)

Sunday, March 1, 2020:

  • 12:30 pm ET – Columbus Crew SC vs. New York City FC (MAPFRE Stadium)
  • 1 pm ET – New York Red Bulls vs. FC Cincinnati (Red Bull Arena)
  • 3 pm ET – Seattle Sounders vs. Chicago Fire FC (CenturyLink Field)
  • 5:30 pm ET – LAFC vs. Inter Miami CF (Banc of California Stadium)
  • 7:30 pm ET – Portland Timbers vs. Minnesota United (Providence Park)

Saturday, March 7, 2020:

  • 1:30 pm ET – New England Revolution vs. Chicago Fire FC (Gillette Stadium)
  • 2 pm ET – Real Salt Lake vs. New York Red Bulls (Rio Tinto Stadium)
  • 5 pm ET – Toronto FC vs. New York City FC (BMO Field)
  • 7 pm ET – Atlanta United vs. FC Cincinnati (Mercedes-Benz Stadium)
  • 8:30 pm ET – Sporting Kansas City vs. Houston Dynamo (Children’s Mercy Park)
  • 9 pm ET – Colorado Rapids vs. Orlando City SC (Dick’s Sporting Goods Park)
  • 10 pm ET – LA Galaxy vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC (Dignity Health Sports Park)

Saturday, March 14, 2020:

  • 12:30 pm ET – New York City FC vs. FC Dallas (Yankee Stadium)
  • 2:30 pm ET – Inter Miami CF vs. LA Galaxy (Inter Miami CF Stadium in Fort Lauderdale)
  • 5:30 pm ET – FC Cincinnati vs. D.C. United (Nippert Stadium)
  • 7:30 pm ET – Philadelphia Union vs. San Jose Earthquakes (Talen Energy Stadium)

Sunday, March 15, 2020:

  • 7:00 pm ET – Minnesota United vs. New York Red Bulls (Allianz Field)

Saturday, March 21, 2020:

  • 3:30 PM ET – Chicago Fire FC vs. Atlanta United (Soldier Field)