NEW YORK – Finally, a true all-star game for the best of Major League Soccer.

The MLS all-stars will meet their LIGA MX counterparts in the former’s first game against an international all-star team.

Since 2002, MLS had played against club teams and even the U.S. national team.

MLS announced Wednesday that the game will be played at Banc of California Stadium, home of the Los Angeles Football Club, in the league’s 25th season.

The game will be broadcast on ESPN and Univision networks in the U.S., TSN and TVA Sports in Canada, as well as on ESPN throughout Mexico and Latin America.

LAFC’s Bob Bradley, a three-time MLS coach of the year, will guide the MLS all-stars after leading LAFC to the Supporters’ Shield and setting a new MLS regular-season points record this past season.

The all-star game returns to Los Angeles for the first time since 2003, the first all-star game against a foreign club, when the match featured a LIGA MX opponent. The MLS All-Stars defeated Club Deportivo Guadalajara, 3-1, at Dignity Health Sports Park (then known as The Home Depot Center), home of the LA Galaxy.

“We are so pleased to bring the 2020 MLS all-star game presented by Target to Los Angeles, one of the great soccer markets in North America,” MLS commissioner Don Garber said. “As we celebrate our 25th season, we wanted to deliver an unique and unprecedented format for our annual All-Star Game. Our first ever game between the best of MLS and LIGA MX’s top players is the perfect way to build on the growing relationship between the two top soccer leagues in the region.”

Added LIGA MX executive president Enrique Bonilla: “For LIGA MX it is a privilege to be part of MLS’ celebration of its 25th season with this MLS all-star game. Also, it represents another step in the partnership that we have established between two of the best leagues in the world. I know that this game being played in a spectacular setting and a magnificent stadium will be exciting for our fans, in a city that is special to us. For LIGA MX, it will always be important to be close to our supporters in the United States. The MLS All-Star Game, of course, strengthens the sports rivalry between MLS and LIGA MX. A rivalry that will collaborate directly in the growth of the sport in our region.”

1996: East 3, West 2 (E. Rutherford, N.J.)
1997: East 5, West 4 (E. Rutherford, N.J.)
1998: MLS USA 6, MLS World 1 (Orlando)
1999: West 6, East 4 (San Diego)
2000: East 9, West 4 (Columbus)
2001: East 6, West 6 (San Jose)
2002: MLS 3, U.S. National Team 2 (Washington, D.C.)
2003: MLS 3, CD Guadalajara 1 (Carson, Calif.)
2004: East 3, West 2 (Washington, D.C.)
2005: MLS 4, Fulham FC 1 (Columbus)
2006: MLS 1, Chelsea FC 0 (Bridgeview, Ill.)
2007: MLS 2, Celtic FC 0 (Commerce City, Colo.)
2008: MLS 3, West Ham United FC 2 (Toronto)
2009: MLS 1, Everton FC 1 (Everton 4-3 pen) (Sandy, Utah)
2010: Manchester United FC 5, MLS 2 (Houston)
2011: Manchester United FC 4, MLS 0 (Harrison, N.J.)
2012: MLS 3, Chelsea FC 2 (Chester, Pa.)
2013: AS Roma 3, MLS 1 (Kansas City)
2014: MLS 2, Bayern Munich 1 (Portland)
2015: MLS 2, Tottenham Hotspur 1 (Commerce City, Colo.)
2016: Arsenal 2, MLS 1 (San Jose)
2017: Real Madrid 1, MLS 1 (Real Madrid 4-2 pen) (Chicago)
2018: Juventus 1, MLS 1 (Juventus 5-4 pen) (Atlanta)
2019: Atlético Madrid 3, MLS 0 (Orlando)