Washington Spirit goalkeeper Aubrey Bledsoe has been named the National Women’s Soccer League goalkeeper of the year, the league announced Friday.

On Thursday, the goalkeeper received her first call-up to the U.S. women’s national team. Last week, Bledsoe was also named to the NWSL’s Best XI.

The 27-year-old became the first Spirit keeper to receive the award. The goalkeeper title was voted on by the club officials, players, media and fans.

“I think the level of goalkeeping this year especially was incredible and huge shout out to Kailen Sheridan and Casey Murphy,” Beldsoe said. “They were incredible this year. I’m honored just to be in the top three and to win it. … Yeah it’s exciting. I think it speaks a lot to the Spirit and the year that we had.”

Bledsoe also gave credit to the players in the Spirit defense, saying: “[It was] definitely a team effort this year, and speaks to how much we really enjoyed playing with each other. We really brought the best out of each other and just really enjoyed the group that we had this year.”

Bledsoe started all 24 matches for Washington and logged 2,149 minutes. She ranked first in the league with 86 saves and ranked second among all league goalkeepers with nine shutouts, breaking her personal best four set in 2018. Bledsoe earned save of the week honors three times this season (Week 4, Week 12, Week 16) and was named player of the week twice (Weeks 4 and 7). She was tied for second in the league in goals-against average (1.04) and conceded 25 goals for a save percentage of 77.5 percent.

Bledsoe is tied for seventh all-time among NWSL goalkeepers in shutouts (15) and holds the league record for saves in a single season (108).

Reign FC’s Murphy and Sky Blue FC’s Sheridan finished in second and third, respectively.


Bledsoe 44.7%
Murphy 29.9%
Sheridan 25.4%

The list of finalists was decided after a preliminary round of voting by owners, general managers, coaches, players and media. The finalists were then voted on by fans, owners, general managers, coaches, players and media.

Voting Breakdown:
Preliminary Round: Owners/GMs/Coaches (25%), Media (25%) and Players (50%)
Final Round: Fans (20%), Owners/GMs/Coaches (20%), Media (20%) and Players (40%)

List of NWSL Goalkeepers of the Year
2013: Nicole Barnhart, FC Kansas City
2014: Alyssa Naeher, Boston Breakers
2015: Michelle Betos, Portland Thorns FC
2016: Ashlyn Harris, Orlando Pride
2017: Adrianna Franch, Portland Thorns FC
2018: Adrianna Franch, Portland Thorns FC
2019: Aubrey Bledsoe, Washington Spirit