The five Major League Soccer clubs that will participate in the 2020 Concacaf Champions League have been determined as the Los Angeles Football Club, New York City FC, Atlanta United, Seattle Sounders FC and the Montreal Impact have qualified for the tournament.

LAFC will play in its first CCL competition by virtue of capturing the 2019 Supporters’ Shield behind a record 72 regular season points.

NYCFC, which was eliminated by Toronto FC in the Eastern Conference semifinals, 2-1, Wednesday night, also has qualified for its first CCL by finishing 2019 as the top team in the Eastern Conference, breaking a club record with 64 points.

Atlanta United returns to its second consecutive CCL tournament after winning the 2019 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup title, its third title in as many seasons for the club.

The Montreal Impact qualify for CCL for the fourth time, and third time as a member of MLS, after capturing the 2019 Canadian Championship.

Seattle Sounders FC is the final team to qualify for the tournament in what will be its sixth CCL appearance. The slot belonging to the 2019 MLS Cup champion will be secured by either LAFC, Atlanta, Toronto FC or Seattle pending results of the MLS Cup Playoffs.

Should a CCL-qualified club (LAFC/NYCFC/Atlanta) or a Canadian club (Toronto) win MLS Cup, the club with the highest point total, regardless of conference, would qualify for CCL. Based on final regular season standings, Seattle has qualified.

The final ranking of the U.S.-based MLS qualified clubs will be determined pending results of MLS Cup. The champions take the top spot, followed in order by Supporters’ Shield winners, Eastern Conference regular season champion, Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Champion and any remaining club occupying the fourth and final slot.

The 2020 Concacaf Champions League official draw will take place on Dec. 9 in Mexico City. CCL Round of 16 action begins Feb. 18-20, 2020.

2020 Concacaf Champions League qualified MLS clubs
Team Qualified Via
*TBD 2019 MLS Cup champion
Los Angeles Football Club 2019 Supporters’ Shield winner
New York City FC 2019 Eastern Conference Regular Season champion
Atlanta United 2019 U.S. Open Cup champion
Montreal Impact 2019 Canadian Championship winner
Seattle Sounders FC 2019 MLS Cup Champion or next highest team in Supporters’ Shield standings