Major League Soccer announced Wednesday that Los Angeles Football Club head coach Bob Bradley has been named the MLS Sigi Schmid coach of the year.

Bradley received 48.06 percent of the vote. New York City FC head coach Dome Torrent finished second, accruing 15.89 percent.

It marked the third time Bradley has won the honor, named after the late Schmid, who achieved great coaching success with the LA Galaxy, Columbus Crew and Seattle Sounders FC.

As the first head coach in LAFC history, Bradley led the second-year club to a record-breaking regular season, capturing the Supporters’ Shield for a Round 1 bye and the top seed in the MLS Cup Playoffs as a complement to setting a new single-season points record (72) and tying the single-season team goals record (85).

Bradley put together a roster that produced the best MLS regular season (21-4-9), with three more wins and two fewer losses than the next closest teams. His motivational acumen helped Carlos Vela to the Golden Boot crown with a season scoring record of 34 goals and his LAFC backline allowed the fewest goals of any team.

LAFC also experienced tremendous first-year success under Bradley, reaching the playoffs, setting an expansion team points record (57) and matching the records for expansion team goals (70) and away wins (7).

Building from scratch is Bradley’s specialty. He earned MLS coaching honors after leading the 1998 Chicago Fire to an MLS Cup-winning season and a Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup title in its first season. He earned a second award after guiding second-year club Chivas USA to the playoffs during their turnaround 2006 season.

Internationally, Bradley coached the U.S. men’s national team from 2006-11, winning the 2007 Concacaf Gold Cup final over Mexico, placing second in the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup and guiding the USMNT to the top of its group in the 2010 World Cup in South Africa.

Following a stint with the Egypt national team, he later became the first American to manage an English Premier League club while at Swansea City before he joined LAFC’s technical staff last year.

Bradley is a two-time U.S. Open Cup champion with his sights set on winning a second MLS Cup, as top-ranked LAFC prepare for its Western Conference semifinal match against the Galaxy in the El Traffico Thursday, Oct. 24 (10:30 p.m. ET, ESPN / ESPN Deportes / TSN4 / TVA Sports).

With three coach of the year awards, Bradley joined New England Revolution head coach Bruce Arena with the most in MLS history.

The award was voted on by MLS club technical staff, media, and current MLS players. Below is a breakdown of the voting results:

Coach of the Year Player % Club % Media % Final %
Bob Bradley (LAFC) 53.79% 39.80% 50.58% 48.06%
Domènec Torrent (NYC) 10.69% 23.47% 13.51% 15.89%
Jim Curtin (PHI) 7.59% 19.39% 12.36% 13.11%
Adrian Heath (MIN) 3.45% 8.16% 8.88% 6.83%
Matías Almeyda (SJ) 9.31% 3.06% 7.72% 6.70%
Bruce Arena (NE) 5.86% 5.10% 4.25% 5.07%


MLS Coach of the Year Winners:
2019: Bob Bradley – Los Angeles Football Club
2018: Gerardo “Tata” Martino – Atlanta United
2017: Greg Vanney – Toronto FC
2016: Oscar Pareja – FC Dallas
2015: Jesse Marsch – New York Red Bulls
2014: Ben Olsen – D.C. United
2013: Caleb Porter – Portland Timbers
2012: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2011: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
2010: Schellas Hyndman – FC Dallas
2009: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
2008: Sigi Schmid – Columbus Crew SC
2007: Preki – Chivas USA
2006: Bob Bradley – Chivas USA
2005: Dominic Kinnear – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Greg Andrulis – Columbus Crew SC
2003: Dave Sarachan – Chicago Fire
2002: Steve Nicol – New England Revolution
2001: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Bob Gansler – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Sigi Schmid – LA Galaxy
1998: Bob Bradley – Chicago Fire
1997: Bruce Arena – D.C. United
1996: Thomas Rongen – Tampa Bay Mutiny