Brian Dunn (left), along with game officials Ramy Touchan, Allen Chapman Nick Uranga and Bryan Poeschel (Photo courtesy of ENYYSA)

New Hyde Park, N.Y. resident Brian Dunn Tuesday was named MLS assistant referee of the year by the league, it was announced by Major League Soccer and the Professional Referee Organization.

This was Dunn’s first such honor.

Allen Chapman was selected referee of the year for the second time.

“I’m delighted that the consistently high levels of performance produced by both Allen Chapman and Brian Dunn throughout the season have been recognized in this way. Both are extremely talented and dedicated officials, and they are very deserving of their respective Referee and Assistant Referee of the Year honors,” PRO general manager Howard Webb said. “The outstanding work of Allen and Brian throughout 2019 is a reflection of the increasingly high standards we set each year at the Professional Referee Organization, as our talented pool of match officials continues to get stronger.”

Dunn was named an assistant referee for the 2019 MLS all-star game in Orlando, which featured MLS and Atlético Madrid. Dunn’s performance evaluation figures during the 2019 MLS season ranked among the top assistant referees, according to PRO.

The 44-year-old also was part of the officiating crew at this year’s Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup final. He was assigned to 26 games this season and has worked 135 MLS games in his career.

Among other assignments, Dunn, who has been assigned MLS matches since 2012, served as an assistant referee during the 2015 MLS all-star game that featured Tottenham Hotspur.


MLS Referee of the Year Winners:

2019: Allen Chapman

2018: Alan Kelly

2017: Allen Chapman

2016: Alan Kelly

2015: Alan Kelly

2014: Mark Geiger

2013: Hilario Grajeda

2012: Silviu Petrescu

2011: Mark Geiger

2010: Kevin Stott

2009: Alex Prus

2008: Jair Marrufo

2007: Brian Hall

2006: Brian Hall

2005: Brian Hall

2004: Abiodun Okulaja

2003: Brian Hall

2002: Kevin Terry

2001: Paul Tamberino

2000: Paul Tamberino

1999: Paul Tamberino

1998: Paul Tamberino

1997: Esse Baharmast

MLS Assistant Referee of the Year Winners:

2019: Brian Dunn

2018: Joe Fletcher

2017: Corey Parker

2016: Frank Anderson

2015: Corey Parker

2014: Paul Scott

2013: Kermit Quisenberry

2012: Ian Anderson

2011: Corey Rockwell

2010: Craig Lowry

2009: Greg Barkey

2008: Kermit Quisenberry