Andre Shinyashiki finished with seven goals and three assists. (USA TODAY Sports Photo)

Major League Soccer announced Tuesday that Colorado Rapids forward Andre Shinyashiki has been named its rookie of the year.

The 22-year-old Shinyashiki scored seven goals to lead all rookies, while adding three assists. He established himself as an impact player for Colorado as the club compiled an unbeaten 6-0-3 record in regular season matches where he recorded either a goal or an assist.

Drafted with the No. 5 overall selection in the 2019 MLS SuperDraft, Shinyashiki became the second Rapids player to win the award, following in the footsteps of 2013 winner Dillon Powers.

Shinyashiki showed a flair for the dramatic in his professional debut, coming off the bench to score for the trailing 10-man Rapids in the waning moments of the match to salvage a 3-3 draw against the Portland Timbers March 2 in the coldest game in MLS history (watch goal).

The rookie then scored the game-winning goal against the LA Galaxy May 19 in yet another substitute appearance to secure a 1-0 victory (watch goal). Shinyashiki recorded his first professional assist May 29 in a 1-1 draw against Philadelphia, providing the equalizing assist in the 71st minute (watch assist).

The highlight of Shinyashiki’s season came Sept. 7 when he recorded his first professional brace in a 2-0 victory over Seattle Sounders FC, which led to him being named the MLS player of the week. He recorded five equalizing or game-winning goals and assists this season.

The São Paulo, Brazil native appeared in 31 regular season matches, registering 1,670 minutes over 18 starts. Shinyashiki won back-to-back national titles while playing at Monte Verde Academy in Florida before attending the University of Denver. While at Denver, Shinyashiki led the program to its first ever College Cup appearance in 2016 and scored 28 goals in his senior season in 2018, the most in NCAA men’s soccer in 20 years.

The rookie of the year was voted on by MLS club technical staff, media and current MLS players. Below is a breakdown of the voting results:

Rookie of the Year Player % Club % Media % Final %
Andre Shinyashiki (COL) 32.41% 31.31% 34.01% 32.58%
Brenden Aaronson (PHI) 15.52% 32.32% 25.51% 24.45%
Hassani Dotson (MIN) 14.48% 14.14% 16.60% 15.07%
Frankie Amaya (CIN) 5.86% 2.02% 4.05% 3.98%
Chase Gasper (MIN) 5.52% 3.03% 2.83% 3.79%

All-Time Rookie of the Year Winners
2019: Andre Shinyashiki – Colorado Rapids
2018: Corey Baird – Real Salt Lake
2017: Julian Gressel – Atlanta United
2016: Jordan Morris – Seattle Sounders FC
2015: Cyle Larin – Orlando City SC
2014: Tesho Akindele – FC Dallas
2013: Dillon Powers – Colorado Rapids
2012: Austin Berry – Chicago Fire
2011: C.J. Sapong – Sporting Kansas City
2010: Andy Najar – D.C. United
2009: Omar Gonzalez – LA Galaxy
2008: Sean Franklin – LA Galaxy
2007: Maurice Edu – Toronto FC
2006: Jonathan Bornstein – Chivas USA
2005: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2004: Clint Dempsey – New England Revolution
2003: Damani Ralph – Chicago Fire
2002: Kyle Martino – Columbus Crew
2001: Rodrigo Faria – MetroStars
2000: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire
1999: Jay Heaps – Miami Fusion
1998: Ben Olsen – D.C. United
1997: Mike Duhaney – Tampa Bay Mutiny
1996: Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny