Casey Short has eanred 29 caps with the USWNT. (Harrison Barden-USA TODAY Sports)

CHICAGO – Chicago Red Stars defender Casey Short has been added to the U.S. women’s national team roster for the final match of the 2019 Victory Tour, it was announced Friday.

Short will make a quick trip to the team hotel to join the U.S. squad for the Sunday match against South Korea at Soldier Field (2 p.m. ET on ESPN). The game will be the final match for head coach Jill Ellis, who announced on July 30 that she would be step down at the end of the Victory Tour after her run at the helm of the U.S. team.

Short, like Andi Sullivan, who was added before the two Korea matches, was named to the roster due to several injuries and the overall work load of the 2019 Women’s World Cup team players as the National Women’s Soccer League season nears its conclusion.

Short, who has 29 USWNT caps, started 23 of the Red Stars 24 matches this season to help the Chicago side to a second-place finish in the NWSL regular season and a playoff berth. Short played in both matches for the USA against Portugal earlier in the Victory Tour when she was also called in to add depth and be available to play valuable minutes to spell World Cup players.

U.S. Women’s National Team Roster by Position – 2019 Victory Tour vs. Korea Republic:
GOALKEEPERS (3): 21-Adrianna Franch (Portland Thorns FC), 18-Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride), 1-Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)

DEFENDERS (8): 7-Abby Dahlkemper (NC Courage), 12-Tierna Davidson (Chicago Red Stars), 19-Crystal Dunn (NC Courage), 11-Ali Krieger (Orlando Pride), 5-Kelley O’Hara (Utah Royals FC), 4-Becky Sauerbrunn (Utah Royals FC), 26-Casey Short (Chicago Red Stars), 14-Emily Sonnett (Portland Thorns FC)

MIDFIELDERS (6): 6-Morgan Brian (Chicago Red Stars), 8-Julie Ertz (Chicago Red Stars), 16-Rose Lavelle (Washington Spirit), 20-Allie Long (Reign FC), 3-Samantha Mewis (NC Courage), 25-Andi Sullivan (Washington Spirit)

FORWARDS (7): 17-Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC), 10-Carli Lloyd (Sky Blue FC), 22-Jessica McDonald (NC Courage), 13-Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), 23-Christen Press (Utah Royals FC), 2-Mallory Pugh (Washington Spirit), 15-Megan Rapinoe (Reign FC)