NEW YORK – Major League Soccer and LIGA MX Thursday announced that Leagues Cup will expand from eight teams to 16 teams in 2020 for the new tournament between the top two soccer leagues in North America.

Qualifying criteria for the eight MLS clubs will be determined by the top four teams in the 2019 MLS Eastern Conference regular season standings and the top four teams in the 2019 MLS Western Conference regular season standings that will not be participating in the 2020 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League.

The eight LIGA MX teams will include the 2019 Apertura champion, 2020 Clausura champion, 2019-20 Copa MX champion, and the next five best teams in the combined Apertura 2019-Clausura 2020 regular season standings that have not already qualified for Leagues Cup.

Leagues Cup kicks off this Tuesday, July 23 in Chicago and Los Angeles, and Wednesday, July 24 in Houston and Salt Lake City. The Leagues Cup Final will be played Sept. 18 at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas.